WoW Shadowlands: Release Date, Launch Time, PVP, Covenants, Map, Raid, Editions, System Requirements & more

This article contains information about the 'release-date' of either a movie, game or product. Unless stated explicitly, release dates are speculative & subject to change. See something wrong? Contact us here

World of Warcraft has been a gaming juggernaut since 2004, and its newest expansion, Shadowlands, could be its biggest yet.

Let's go over all the details, and when you'll be able to hop into WoW's newest expansion.

Release Date & Launch Time

WoW Shadowlands was originally scheduled to launch on October 27th. After delays, Shadowlands will now release on November 23rd for some regions, and November 24th for others (depending on time zone).

Shadowlands will launch at the following times regionally:

  • Americas (PST): November 23 at 3:00 PM
  • Europe (CET): November 24 at 12:00 AM
  • Taiwan(CST): November 24 at 7:00 AM
  • Korea (KST): November 24 at 8:00 AM
  • ANZ (AEDT): November 24 at 10:00 AM
  • (UTC): November 23 at 11:00 PM

READ MORE:Classic World of Warcraft: Massive Ban Wave Targets Thousands of Classic WoW Accounts


Shadowlands will bring a ton of new content to WoW, including new zones, a new raid, new abilities and plenty more.

Let's dive right in!


WoW Shadowlands will be a massive revival for PVP gameplay.

Shadowlands will see the return of PVP vendors, Conquest Points, Honor Points, Item Upgrading, and more.

This will create a new ecosystem where PVPers are back in-control of their progression instead of depending on RNG loot boxes.

While we won't be getting a new arena and battleground in Shadowlands, PVP will feel brand new in WoW's newest expansion.

You can read over our full guide for Shadowlands PVP here.


The Shadowlands houses four different covenants. Players will choose between these covenants to modify their character's abilities.

World of Warcraft Shadowlands release date Venthyr
expand image
CHOOSE A CAUSE: The Venthyr are one of four covenants players can support in The Shadowlands

Each Covenant runs a different zone in Shadowlands, and offers different abilities for players depending on class.

The WoW Shadowlands covenants include the Kyrian, Necrolords, Night Fae, and Venthyr.

World of Warcraft Shadowlands release date Covenant Kyrian 1
expand image
PROTECTORS: The Kyrian will likely be one of the most popular Shadowlands Covenants

Each serve a different purpose in the Shadowlands, all relating to souls and the cycle of death.

You can go over each Shadowlands Covenant in detail with our guide here.

Covenant Abilities

There are many different classes to choose from, and in Shadowlands, each will have their own Covenant abilities.

Here are breakdowns of all the Covenant ability options for each class.


The Shadowlands features six zones, four of which house the Shadowlands covenants.

World of Warcraft Shadowlands release date map ardenweald bastion maldraxus revendreth oribos the maw
expand image
A NEW WORLD: The Shadowlands features six new regions

These zones include Ardenweald (home of the Night Fae), Bastion (home of the Kyrian), Maldraxxus (home of the Necrolords), Revendreth (home of the Venthyr), Oribos, and The Maw.


Castle Nathria is the first World of Warcraft Shadowlands raid.

WoW Shadowlands Castle Nathria raid
expand image
WELCOME: Castle Nathria will be the first raid in Shadowlands

Castle Nathria opens to players on 8 December (NA) and 9 December (EU). This will only include the Normal and Heroic difficulties.

The Mythic difficulty for Castle Nathria and first Raid Finder wing of the raid will come open on 15 December (NA) and 16 December (EU).

READ MORE:World of Warcraft Loses 3 Million Subscribers in 3 Months

Castle Nathria will feature 10 bosses: Artificer Xy'Mox, Hungering Destroyer, Huntsman Altimor, Lady Inerva Darkvein, Shriekwing, Sire Denathrius, Sludgefist, Stone Legion Generals, Sun King's Salvation, and The Council of Blood.


The biggest achievement in Shadowlands that all PVE players will be chasing is Glory of the Nathria Raider.

World of Warcraft Rampart Screecher Castle Nathria Mount
expand image
THE GOAL: All Shadowlands raiders will seek out the Rampart Screecher mount (Image Credit: Wowhead)

Like the other Glory achievements, it will require players to complete raid achievements that will unlock an exclusive mount!

The Glory of the Nathria Raider mount is the Rampart Screecher.

Which Edition Should You Buy?

As with most games these days, there are multiple editions of WoW Shadowlands that players can buy, depending how many extra goodies they want.

READ MORE: WoW Shadowlands System Requirements

The game comes as either the Base Edition, Heroic Edition, and Epic Edition.

READ MORE: WoW Shadowlands: Base, Heroic, Epic Edition, Which Should You Buy? Anima Wyrmling Pet, Ensorcelled Everwyrm Flying Mount

These editions range from $39.99 to $79.99 depending which one you purchase.

This Article's Topics

Explore new topics and discover content that's right for you!