WoW Shadowlands Mage Covenant Abilities: Kyrian, Night Fae, Necrolord, Venthyr

The release of World of Warcraft Shadowlands is just days away!

With four covenants to choose from that offer each class a unique ability, decisions will be tough.

So which covenant should you choose for Mages?

What are Covenants

Covenants are one of the major systems that have been implemented into the latest WoW expansion.

There are four Covenants, with each occupying one of the major zones within the Shadowlands.

READ MORE:WoW Shadowlands: Release Date, Covenants, Launch Time, Raid, Mounts & more

Each of the four Covenants has their own specific class and signature ability, so it's key that you make the correct choice for your character.

Mage Covenant Choices

Mages have four different covenant abilities to choose from.

Let's break them down.


The first Covenant on offering is Kyrian.

  • Mage Ability: Radiant Spark
  • Signature Ability: Summon Steward

The Kyrian Mage class ability Radiant Spark

causes 76% Arcane damage instantly, and an additional 41.2% of Spell Power damage over 10 sec.

The target takes 10% increased damage from your direct damage spells, stacking each time they are struck. This effect ends after 4 spells.

The Kyrian's signature ability is Summon Steward, which summons a steward to bring you a Phial of Serenity that, once consumed, restores 20% health and removes all curse, disease, poison and bleed effects.

READ MORE: WoW Shadowlands Raid: Castle Nathria Guide - Bosses, Loot & more

You can access the rest of your Steward's amenities for four minutes following your call.

Night Fae

The second Covenant on offer is the Night Fae.

  • Mage Ability: Shifting Power
  • Signature Ability: Soulshape

The Night Fae's Mage class ability is Shifting Power.

This ability draws power from the ground beneath, dealing 212.2% of Spell Power Nature damage over 4 sec to enemies within 18 yards.

The signature ability of the Night Fae - Soulshape - helps you to transform in order to teleport.

By using Soulshape you will turn into a Vulpin and teleport 15 yards forward, also increasing your movement speed by 50%.

This signature ability will last 12 seconds unless you are in a rest area, where it can last indefinitely.


The third Covenant option is the Necrolords.

  • Mage Ability: Deathborne
  • Signature Ability: Fleshcraft

The Necrolords' covenant ability is Deathborne.

This ability transforms the player into a powerful skeletal mage for 20 sec.

While in the form of a skeletal mage, your Frostbolt, Fireball, and Arcane Blast hit up to 2 enemies near your target and your spell damage is increased by 10%.

READ MORE:WoW Shadowlands: New Zombie Pre-Expansion Event Ravages Azeroth

The Necrolords have a nice Signature Ability too, Fleshcraft.

This ability forms a shield that absorbs up to 20% of your max health, lasting for 2 minutes. When channeled near a corpse, the shield will grow up to 50% of your maximum health, growing more for larger enemies.


The fourth and final Covenant on offering is Venthyr.

  • Mage Ability: Mirrors of Torment
  • Signature Ability: Door of Shadows

The Venthyr Mage class ability is Mirrors of Torment.

Mirrors of Torment conjures 3 mirrors to torment the enemy for 25 seconds.

Whenever the target attacks, casts a spell, or uses an ability, a mirror is consumed to inflict 60% of Spell Power Shadow damage and their movement and cast speed are slowed by 15%.

READ MORE: WoW Shadowlands System Requirements: Can your PC run Shadowlands?

The Venthyr's signature ability is Door of Shadows.

This 1.5 second cast has a 35 yard range and allows you to wend through the shadows to appear at a targeted location without being spotted.

For more articles like this, take a look at our More page.