Why is the Qatar 2022 FIFA World Cup in November?

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook

The anticipation for the 2022 FIFA World Cup is building as we head towards the Winter months.

However, fans are wondering why the 2022 World Cup will be held in November rather than the usual summer months.

Well, you can find out why right here.

Advertisement

Why is the 2022 World Cup in November?

The 2022 World Cup is taking place in Qatar in the winter months rather than the usual summer ones, due to the intense summer heat.

This makes it the first tournament not to be held in May, June, or July; it is to be played in a reduced timeframe of around 28 days.

The tournament kicks off on Monday, 21 November at the Al Bayt stadium in Al Khor with a match that will feature the host country, Qatar.

The final will be played at the Lusail Stadium in Doha a week before Christmas on Sunday, 18 December.

When can you buy tickets?

Applications for 2022 World Cup tickets opened in January and fans had until February to apply.

As part of that process, applicants could select from a wide range of tickets and packages but were only required to pay for the tickets they were selected for or those they wanted once the random selection draw had taken place.

Advertisement

As a result, a number of tickets have gone unclaimed and are therefore available during the second sales period.

The sales period begins on Wednesday, 23 March at 1pm Doha time / 10am GMT and ends on Sunday, 29 March at 12pm Doha time / 9am GMT.

Advertisement

Find out exactly how you can get Qatar 2022 World Cup tickets here.