FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022: How to get tickets & when sales reopen

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook

Tickets for Qatar 2022 went on sale at the start of 2022 and the anticipation for the tournament is building.

Table of Contents

Find out details exactly how you can secure tickets for the Qatar 2022 FIFA World Cup right here.

When do ticket sales reopen?

Applications for 2022 World Cup tickets opened in January and fans had until February to apply.

As part of that process, applicants could select from a wide range of tickets and packages but were only required to pay for the tickets they were selected for or those they wanted once the random selection draw had taken place.

Advertisement

As a result, a number of tickets have gone unclaimed and are therefore available during the second sales period.

The sales period begins on Wednesday, 23 March at 1pm Doha time / 10am GMT and ends on Sunday, 29 March at 12pm Doha time / 9am GMT.

Advertisement

How to get tickets

Unlike the first round when applicants could apply for a range of tickets in the hope of securing at least one set, this time the applications are for specific tickets, and immediate purchase is required.

Therefore, all successfully purchased tickets will be confirmed immediately.

To be in contention for World Cup tickets, place an application on the Fifa website as soon as the sales period opens.

How much do Qatar 2022 World Cup tickets cost?

The final of the Qatar 2022 FIFA World Cup tournament is due to take place at the Lusail Stadium on Sunday, 18 December.

The most expensive ticket for that game is 5,850 Qatari riyals ($1,607), which is a 46% increase from the $1,100 for the 2018 final in Russia.

The cheapest seats on general sale internationally to watch the opening game of the tournament are up 37% to $302 (1,100 Qatari riyals) from $220 seen in Russia.

Advertisement

Similarly, there’s a rise of 13% for category-two tickets to $440 (1,600 Qatari riyals) from $390.

This means following England or Wales through the tournament will prove prohibitively expensive for many ordinary match-going fans, especially when coupled with travel and high day-to-day living costs in Qatar.