V10 R-League Round 6 Winners & Losers: Suzuki pull off surprise victory as Porsche, Williams & BMW complete clean sweeps

The Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps served up a fantastic day of action for the penultimate V10 R-League round.

The high-speed Belgian track allowed for brilliant overtaking maneuvers and questionable team tactics. But who impressed and who left us wanting more in the Ardennes Forest?

We've got all the winners and losers from Round 6 right here!

Winner: Williams

Williams had to complete a clean sweep over bottom-placed team Fordzilla to take the title fight to the final round. That's exactly what they got, but it wasn't easy as Fordzilla put up a real fight.

Fordzilla Williams Spa-Francorchamps Round 6 V10 R-League Season 1
expand image
SURPRSINGLY CLOSE: Not much separated Williams and Fordzilla on-track

The Polish pairing of Nikodem Wisniewski and Kuba Brzeziński made the difference in the head-to-heads to give Williams a 1-0 lead.

In the relay race, things were closer, as Brzezinski led but only by less than a second from Lopez. Wisniewski and Arnold were similarly matched before Martin Stefanko blew Rodriguez out of the water.

READ MORE: V10 R-League is a new era for esports & sim racing

Lopez led in the early stages of the team race, but Stefanko, Brzezinski, and later Wisniewski were all queuing up behind the Spaniard. Stefanko took the lead with just two laps to go to seal a third championship point for Williams

It was a true team performance for Williams, as they remain in championship contention. Fordzilla continue to struggle, as they've not scored since they earned a single point at the opening round at Monza.

Loser: Red Bull

Before this round, Red Bull were still in the title hunt, but they needed a clean sweep over Jean Alesi Suzuki to maintain their chance. That's not what happened though, as JAESA pulled off a massive shock.

jaesa suzuki vallelunga v10r league
expand image
FLYING: Suzuki were stunningly quick at times yesterday

Suzuki's Giovanni De Salvo started in second for his head-to-head but took advantage of the slipstream to pass Nils Naujoks. De Salvo held his lead to the line giving Suzuki a surprise lead.

Giorgio Simonini then made contact with Joni Tormala, spinning the Finn out of contention and giving Suzuki a 1-0 championship point lead.

READ MORE: V10 R-League: Unique format promises exciting racing

De Salvo and Naujoks played games into Eau Rouge in the relay race, which ended up spinning De Salvo and earning Naujoks a penalty. Red Bull would win the race on the road, but, after the penalty was applied, Suzuki led 2-0.

Red Bull produced a perfect performance to best Suzuki in the team race, but the damage was already done.

Winner: Michal Smidl

The most impressive individual performance of the day had to be that of Michal Smidl's. The Porsche24 Redline team had a great day but Smidl was a monster around Spa.

porsche24 redline laguna seca v10r league
expand image
FRONT RUNNERS: Porsche have only dropped two points all season

Smidl began in second for his head-to-head against Racing Point's Shanaka Clay. That didn't stop the Czech driver though, as he powered past the Brit up the Kemmel Straight.

From there, Smidl never looked back to give Porsche a 1-0 championship lead. In truth, Smidl had it easy for the relay race after Epps' spin against Atze Kerkhof put Racing Point out of contention.

COMING SOON: Racinggames.gg, the new home of motorsport gaming

Smidl started down the order in the team's race as Racing Point started 1-2-3. It was going to be tough to break this stranglehold, but that's exactly what Smidl did.

Smidl bided his time and intelligently picked off both Clay and Epps to move into P2. Lobato was next for the lead and could offer no resistance. By the finish, Smidl had built a lead of over five seconds, thanks to his mesmeric pace.

Loser: Yas Heat

Nobody expected Yas Heat to pick up many points against BMW yesterday, but their form has been very poor. It's now three clean sweep losses in a row for Heat, which has seen them drop from 4th to 7th.

Yas Heat Spa-Francorchamps Round 6 V10 R-League Season 1
expand image
LONG WAY DOWN: Heat's form of late has been very poor

Isaac Gillessen had no beginner's luck, as BMW dominated the head-to-head contests. Coque Lopez, Kevin Siggy and Laurin Heinrich all won their personal battles.

Jaroslav Honzik did his best in the relay race, but Heinrich's ridiculous pace in the middle stint ended Heat's chances. It was a similar story in the team race, as Heinrich was unstoppable out front.

READ MORE: V10 R-League Round 5 Winners & Losers

To add insult to injury, all three of Heat's drivers earned penalties for contact and track extensions. Even if Heat had won out on track, they still wouldn't have won thanks to these transgressions.

Let's hope that Heat can improve their fortunes for their home race next week!

The Next Round

The V10 R-League travels to the Middle East for the final round of the series' inaugural season! Round 7 will be held on the UAE's Yas Marina Circuit on 19th October at 7 pm BST.

The entire Season 1 of V10 R-League will be shown on BT Sport in the UK.

Those in the US can watch on ESPN3, while in the Middle East it will be available on STARZPLAY Arabia.

This Article's Topics

Explore new topics and discover content that's right for you!