Madden 23 replaces Weekend League with MUT Champions in Ultimate Team

We've got a ton of information surrounding Madden 23 Ultimate Team after the Gridiron Notes were released.

These notes detailed the replacement of Weekend League with the new MUT Champions format and we're going to break it all down for you.

Get ready to build your team and take the gridiron in MUT.

Madden 23 Ultimate Team replaces Weekend League

In the Gridiron Notes released by EA, the company stated that they focused on major quality of life improvements with Weekend League.

This resulted in the complete replacement of Weekend League with MUT Champions, which is being called the most competitive mode in Ultimate Team.

Madden 23
expand image
CHAMPIONS HUB: Earn rewards and wins by competing in MUT Champions

One of the most notable changes in Madden 23 is that MUT Champions will be available throughout the entire week, allowing players the ability to play on any day of the week.

There will be a weekly reset each Monday, so you’ll still be able to play up to 25 games per week.

PRE ORDER NOW: Secure your copy of Madden 23 before it arrives

Champs Entry Tokens in MUT 23

Another new change is the Champs Entry Tokens which is how you'll earn your entry into the MUT Champions program.

Making progress on the Competitive Pass, which we detailed here, you’ll be able to earn Champs Entry Tokens and exchange one to access MUT Champions for that week.

Madden 23 MUT Champions
expand image
CHAMPS ENTRY TOKENS: Complete challenges to get into MUT Champions

The good news about the Champs Entry Tokens is that these items will go into your binder and don't expire so you can save them to use in the current Field Pass season of MUT Champions.

Speaking of Field Pass in Madden 23, let's take a look at how that'll work in Ultimate Team.

Field Pass in Madden 23 Ultimate Team

Field Pass, similar to MUT Champions, is a new format in Madden 23 that will engage more players to complete challenges.

You'll earn rewards for each level, one of the first is the Head Coach John Madden Item that you'll earn at Level 2.

Madden 23 Ultimate Team
expand image
NEW ITEMS: Earn rewards with each level starting in the first Season

In Madden 23 there are three primary types of Field Passes: Season, Competitive, and Ultimate Team program-specific passes.

Each of these passes will provide players with chances to earn a high overall player that will be revealed at the start of the 60-day season.

This Article's Topics

Explore new topics and discover content that's right for you!