18 Aug 2021 8:13 AM +00:00

Server Downtime for Fortnite's giant v17.40 Update is complete

Jump To

Fortnite's Season 7 update was one of the most well-received seasonal updates we've ever seen and it looks like Epic Games' shooter is only going from strength to strength. The v17.40 Update is live now and the biggest update of the season yet so there's a lot to look forward to.

UPDATE - Patch Notes now available

The Patch Notes are now available following Fortnite Update 17.40 being implemented this morning. Catch up on all of the changes to Battle Royale, Save the World and Creative below;

Servers are back up in Fortnite!

Downtime is complete for Fortnite Update 17.40 and servers are live once again. You can now jump back in to enjoy the new game mode and all the new content that has been added.

Advertisement

New Game Mode revealed as Imposters

A brand new mode, called Imposter Mode, is coming as part of Fortnite Update 17.40. It will see between 4-10 players infiltrate the IO and attempt to oust the mole among them.

Advertisement

This appears to be the game mode that started all of the Among Us rumours last week which sadly means the collaboration is likely non-existant... for now.

Server Downtime has started...

As expected, Fortnite's servers are offline and Server Downtime for the v17.40 Update has begun. Things are leaking pretty fast, as always, and we know a little about content coming over the next few weeks - which has us giddy with excitement - and the new Item Shop Bundles that are on the way.

Advertisement

We should learn about everything included before too long and Server Downtime is expected to end by around 03:00 PST / 06:00 EST / 11:00 BST.

Advertisement

Fortnite Update 17.40 Release Time

There is no indication that Fortnite Update 17.40 will break the traditional update schedule meaning it should drop on Tuesday, 17 August. As for the server downtime, we expect this to begin at 09:00 BST / 04:00 EST / 01:00 PST and last anywhere up to two hours.

Advertisement

Despite it being late in the season, we are still expecting more major updates before Season 8 beings. Leakers have discovered that 17.50 does exist and is in the works and this could be the final big update of Season 7.

Fortnite Update 17.40 Content

There is some debate going on right now as to whether Fortnite Update 17.40 will bring us an Among Us crossover. Due to the names of some files that were uncovered during a recent data mine, many believe that a crossover is imminent whereas others believe it's entirely coincidence.

Advertisement

Time will tell which scenario turns out to be true, but it's just another example of how a Fortnite Update like 17.40 can cause such speculation and excitement with the community on such a high.

When it comes to the fixes that will be implemented in Fortnite Update 17.40, the community Trello board is always the best place to check for what still needs addressing. @XTigerHyperX on Twitter discovered that there are 706 builds in the update which suggests the update will be considerably larger than those in recent weeks.

Advertisement