F1 30 Apr 2021 9:33 AM +00:00

All the details on how to tune into the Portuguese Grand Prix

+ 5
Jump To
Advertisement

The F1 2021 season continues this weekend with the Portuguese Grand Prix!

The countdown is well and truly underway - so here are all the latest details on how to watch the race in Portugal.

Latest - Turkey to replace Canada on 2021 F1 race calendar

Formula 1 has confirmed a change to round 7 of the 2021 calendar, with the Turkish Grand Prix replacing the Canadian Grand Prix for the weekend of June 11 to 13.

Advertisement
turkey grand prix f1
click to enlarge
+ 5
LATE CHANGES: Turkish Grand Prix set to take place in June

Credit: F1

Due to the ongoing international travel restrictions in place in Canada, it became impossible for Formula 1 to enter the country without a mandatory 14-day quarantine, leading to the change.

Turkey returns to the calendar after a thrilling first event in Istanbul in nine years last November, in which Lewis Hamilton was crowned world champion for a record-equalling seventh time.

How to watch the Portuguese Grand Prix

You can watch the Portuguese Grand Prix, as well as every other race, qualifying and practise sessions this season, on Sky Sports F1, which costs £18 per month on Sky TV, or £43 per month if you are new to Sky.

Advertisement
f1 daniel ricciardo mclaren
click to enlarge
+ 5
NEW BEGINNINGS: Ricciardo swears to ‘leave nothing on the table’ as McLaren debut approaches

Credit: Formula 1

You can also watch the Portuguese Grand Prix using Now TV, which offers Sky Sports Day Passes for £9.98, or monthly passes for £33.99.

Sky Sports Portuguese GP Schedule

  • Practice 1 - From 11am on Friday, 30 April (Sky Sports F1 HD)
  • Practice 2 - From 2:45pm on Friday, 30 April (Sky Sports F1 HD)
  • Practice 3 - From 11:45am on Saturday, 1 May (Sky Sports F1 HD)
  • Qualifying - From 2pm on Saturday, 1 May (Sky Sports F1 HD)
  • Grand Prix Sunday - From 1:30pm (Race from 3pm) on Sunday, 2 May (Sky Sports F1 HD)
Advertisement

All times UK.

There will also be extended highlights of the Portuguese GP on Channel 4.

Channel 4 Portuguese GP Schedule

  • Qualifying Highlights - From 6:30pm on Saturday, 1 May
  • Grand Prix Highlights - From 7:30pm on Sunday, 2 May

All times UK.

In the USA, it's ESPN that will be providing comprehensive coverage of the 2021 Portuguese Grand Prix, as well as races on every other circuit in the months to come.

ESPN Portuguese Schedule

  • Practice 1 - Friday, 30 April - From 6:25am (ESPN U)
  • Practice 2 - Friday, 30 April - From 9:55am (ESPN U)
  • Practice 3 - Saturday, 1 May - From 6:55am (ESPN 2)
  • Qualifying - Saturday, 1 May - From 9:55am (ESPN 2)
  • Grand Prix Sunday - Sunday, 2 May - From 8:30am (race at 10am) (ESPN)
Advertisement

All times Eastern.

US fans can also watch live F1 on YouTube TV, Sling TV and FuboTV.

Full Portuguese GP Weekend Timetable

Practice 1 - Friday, 30 April - 6:30-7:30am / 11:30am-12:30pm BST / 12:30-1:30pm CET

Practice 2 - Friday, 30 April - 10-11am ET / 3-4pm BST / 4-5pm CET

Practice 3 - Saturday, 1 May - 7-8am ET / 12-1pm BST / 1-2pm CET

Qualifying - Saturday, 1 May - 10-11am ET / 3-4pm BST / 4-5pm CET

Race - Sunday, 2 May - 10am-12pm ET / 3-5pm BST / 4-6pm CET

Advertisement

When is the Portuguese Grand Prix?

The Portuguese Grand Prix takes place on Sunday, 2 May at 10am ET / 3pm BST / 4pm CET.

Portuguese GP Circuit Guide

Here's what you can expect from the Portuguese GP circuit.

portugal grand prix f1 2021 circuit
click to enlarge
+ 5
EXCITING CIRCUIT: Portimao is a modern venue with elevation change baked into its layout

Credit: F1

Advertisement

Number of Laps: 66

Circuit Lenght: 4.653km

Race Distance: 306.826 km

Lap Record: 1:18.750 Lewis Hamilton (2020)

F1 Constructor Standings

After two thrilling opening races, the Mercedes team's out in front on 60 points, closely followed by Red Bull on 53.

Constructor Standings f1 2021
click to enlarge
+ 5
LEADING THE WAY: Mercedes are out in front in the Constructor Standings once again

Credit: F1

Advertisement

McLaren has made a superb start as they sit in third place on 41 points, with Ferrari hot on their heals!

The Alfa Romeo, Williams and Haas teams are yet to score points so far.

F1 Drivers Standings

After two races it's Lewis Hamilton who edges out in front with one point more than Red Bull driver Max Verstappen.

f1 2021 drivers standings
click to enlarge
+ 5
HAMILTON VS VERSTAPPEN: The two drivers will be battling it out all season long

Credit: F1

Advertisement

Lando Norris has had an excellent start to the season in the McLaren - the young driver continues to impress as he currently sits third overall.

Kimi Raikkonen, Antonio Giovinazzi, George Russell, Sebastian Vettel, Mick Schumacher, Nikita Mazepin and Nicholas Latifi are yet to score points.

Check out all the latest on the next race of the 2021 F1 season here!

*RealSport101 may receive a small commission if you click a link from one of our articles onto a retail website and make a purchase. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. For more information, see our Cookie Policy. All prices listed were accurate at the time of publishing.