F1 11 Jun 2021 3:26 PM +00:00

The French Grand Prix is up next in the 2021 Formula 1 season

+ 5
Jump To
Advertisement

After a crazy race in Baku, the next race of the F1 2021 season is not far away!

It's the French Grand Prix up next, so check out all the information you need to know about the GP in France below.

Advertisement

Current Driver Standings

Red Bull’s Sergio Perez claimed a surprise victory at the Azerbaijan Grand Prix after a sprint to the finish saw Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton lock up into Turn 1 at the restart.

As a result, the Briton finished outside of the points.

f1 2021 driver standings june
click to enlarge
+ 5
DRAMATIC FINISH: Both Championship leaders, Verstappen and Hamilton, failed to finish the Azerbaijan Grand Prix

Credit: F1

Advertisement

Main championship rival, Red Bull’s Max Verstappen, also finished out of the points following a bizarre crash which saw his left rear Pirelli tyre receive a puncture. Hamilton also finishing outside of the points negated this.

Sebastian Vettel bagged his first points of the season in Monaco and claimed the teams’ first ever F1 podium in Azerbaijan.

The German drove a solid race, running long in the first stint and saving a set of fresh tyres for the sprint finish - Vettel has moved into the top ten in the standings.

French GP Circuit Guide

The drivers will head to the Circuit Paul Ricard for the French Grand Prix.

french grand prix f1 2021 circuit Circuit Paul Ricard
click to enlarge
+ 5
CIRCUIT PAUL RICARD: Formula 1 hit the Circuit Paul Ricard in 1971, with Jackie Stewart winning the inaugural race in his Tyrrell 003

Credit: F1

Advertisement

The Circuit Paul Ricard’s even distribution of high, medium and low-speed corners is a key reason why it’s one of the most used test circuits in the world, along with the typically good weather.

Number of Laps: 53

Circuit Length: 5.842km

Race Distance: 309.69 km

Lap Record: 1:32.740 - Sebastian Vettel (2019)

French Grand Prix Weekend Timetable

F1 2021 mercedes red bull
click to enlarge
+ 5
RESPECT: Mercedes and Red Bull are no doubt the front runners for the 2021 F1 Championship

Credit: F1

Advertisement

Practice 1 - Friday, 18 June - 5:30-6:30am / 10:30-11:30am BST / 11:30-12:30pm CET

Practice 2 - Friday, 18 June - 9-10am ET / 2-3m BST / 3-4pm CET

Practice 3 - Saturday, 19 June - 6-7am ET / 11am-12pm BST / 12pm-1pm CET

Qualifying - Saturday, 19 June - 9-10am ET / 2-3pm BST / 3-4pm CET

Race - Sunday, 20 June - 9-11am ET / 2-4pm BST / 3-5pm CET

How to watch the French Grand Prix

You can watch the French Grand Prix and every other race, qualifying and practise sessions this season, on Sky Sports F1, which costs £18 per month on Sky TV, or £43 per month if you are new to Sky.

f1 daniel ricciardo mclaren
click to enlarge
+ 5
NEW BEGINNINGS: Ricciardo swears to ‘leave nothing on the table’ as McLaren debut season arrives

Credit: Formula 1

You can also watch the French Grand Prix using Now TV, which offers Sky Sports Day Passes for £9.98, or monthly passes for £33.99.

Sky Sports French GP Schedule

  • Practice 1 - From 10am on Friday, 18 June (Sky Sports F1 HD)
  • Practice 2 - From 1:45pm on Friday, 18 June (Sky Sports F1 HD)
  • Practice 3 - From 10:45am on Saturday, 19 June (Sky Sports F1 HD)
  • Qualifying - From 1pm on Saturday, 19 June (Sky Sports F1 HD)
  • Grand Prix Sunday - From 12:30pm (Race from 2pm) on Sunday, 20 June (Sky Sports F1 HD)
Advertisement

All times UK.

There will also be extended highlights of the French GP on Channel 4.

Channel 4 French GP Schedule

  • Qualifying Highlights - Saturday, 19 June (time tbc)
  • Grand Prix Highlights - Sunday, 20 June (time tbc)

All times UK.

In the USA, it's ESPN that will be providing comprehensive coverage of the 2021 French Grand Prix and provide races on every other circuit in the months to come.

ESPN French Schedule

  • Practice 1 - Friday, 18 June - From 5:25am (ESPN 2)
  • Practice 2 - Friday, 18 June - From 8:55am (ESPN U)
  • Practice 3 - Saturday, 19 June - From 5:55am (ESPN 2)
  • Qualifying - Saturday, 19 June - From 8:55am (ESPN 2)
  • Grand Prix Sunday - Sunday, 20 June - From 7:30am (race at 9am) (ESPN)
Advertisement

All times Eastern.

US fans can also watch live F1 on YouTube TV, Sling TV and FuboTV.

2021 F1 Calendar

Coronavirus-related disruption means that like in 2020, we’ll see cars whizzing around tracks that don’t usually appear on the calendar.

f1 bahrain gp
click to enlarge
+ 5
LIGHTS OUT: With pre-season testing now completed, the 2021 F1 calendar gets underway in Bahrain

Credit: Formula 1

Advertisement

These include Australia, USA, Brazil, and perhaps most notably, Monaco.

28 March: Bahrain Grand Prix, Sakhir
18 April: Emilia Romagna Grand Prix, Imola, Italy
2 May: Portuguese Grand Prix, Portimao
9 May: Spanish Grand Prix, Barcelona
23 May: Monaco Grand Prix, Monte Carlo
6 June: Azerbaijan Grand Prix, Baku
20 June: French Grand Prix, Le Castellet
27 June: Styrian Grand Prix, Spielberg
2 July: Austrian Grand Prix, Spielberg
18 July: British Grand Prix, Silverstone
1 August: Hungarian Grand Prix, Budapest
29 August: Belgian Grand Prix, Spa-Francorchamps
5 September: Dutch Grand Prix, Zandvoort
12 September: Italian Grand Prix, Monza
26 September: Russian Grand Prix, Sochi
3 October: Singapore Grand Prix, Marina Bay
10 October: Japanese Grand Prix, Suzuka
24 October: United States Grand Prix, Austin
31 October: Mexican Grand Prix, Mexico City
7 November: Brazilian Grand Prix, São Paulo
21 November: Australian Grand Prix, Melbourne
5 December: Saudi Arabian Grand Prix, Jeddah
12 December: Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, Yas Marina, UAE

RacingGames F1 Fantasy League!

If you haven't already, sign up to the RacingGames F1 Fantasy League.

The code to join the league is “86fcc86f71“.

For all the latest news, predictions and guides on the official F1 game, head to RacingGames.gg

*RealSport101 may receive a small commission if you click a link from one of our articles onto a retail website and make a purchase. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. For more information, see our Cookie Policy. All prices listed were accurate at the time of publishing.