F1 30 Apr 2021 9:50 AM +00:00

All the latest news ahead of the Portuguese Grand Prix

+ 5
Jump To
Advertisement

The F1 2021 season continues this weekend with the Portuguese Grand Prix!

The countdown is well and truly underway - so here are all the latest details as we approach the next race in Portugal.

Latest - It's all to play for between Mercedes and Red Bull in Portugal

According to Mercedes’ data, they do not have a car or power unit which can match the Red Bull-Honda package right now.

Advertisement
F1 2021 mercedes red bull
click to enlarge
+ 5
RESPECT: Mercedes and Red Bull are no doubt the front runners for the 2021 F1 Championship

Credit: F1

Red Bull chief Christian Horner isn’t entertaining such a notion, instead suggesting we need to wait until four races have passed until we get a clearer picture of who is on top.

As it stands, heading into the Portuguese Grand Prix weekend, they are pretty evenly matched – with the dominant paddock chatter focused on who everyone thinks will come out on top in round three at Portimao, in what is a third successive different type of track F1 has visited so far this season.

Current F1 Constructor Standings

After two thrilling opening races, the Mercedes team's out in front on 60 points, closely followed by Red Bull on 53.

Advertisement
Constructor Standings f1 2021
click to enlarge
+ 5
LEADING THE WAY: Mercedes are out in front in the Constructor Standings once again

Credit: F1

McLaren has made a superb start as they sit in third place on 41 points, with Ferrari hot on their heals!

The Alfa Romeo, Williams and Haas teams are yet to score points so far.

Current F1 Driver Standings

Here's how the Driver Standings look as we head to Portugal.

Advertisement
f1 2021 drivers standings
click to enlarge
+ 5
HAMILTON VS VERSTAPPEN: The two drivers will be battling it out all season long

Credit: F1

After two races it's Lewis Hamilton who edges out in front with one point more than Red Bull driver Max Verstappen.

Lando Norris has had an excellent start to the season in the McLaren - the young driver continues to impress as he currently sits third overall.

Kimi Raikkonen, Antonio Giovinazzi, George Russell, Sebastian Vettel, Mick Schumacher, Nikita Mazepin and Nicholas Latifi are yet to score points.

Portuguese GP Circuit Guide

Here's what you can expect from the Portuguese GP circuit.

Advertisement
portugal grand prix f1 2021 circuit
click to enlarge
+ 5
EXCITING CIRCUIT: Portimao is a modern venue with elevation change baked into its layout

Credit: F1

Number of Laps: 66

Circuit Lenght: 4.653km

Advertisement

Race Distance: 306.826 km

Lap Record: 1:18.750 Lewis Hamilton (2020)

Portuguese Grand Prix Timetable

Practice 1 - Friday, 30 April - 6:30-7:30am / 11:30am-12:30pm BST / 12:30-1:30pm CET

Practice 2 - Friday, 30 April - 10-11am ET / 3-4pm BST / 4-5pm CET

Practice 3 - Saturday, 1 May - 7-8am ET / 12-1pm BST / 1-2pm CET

Qualifying - Saturday, 1 May - 10-11am ET / 3-4pm BST / 4-5pm CET

Race - Sunday, 2 May - 10am-12pm ET / 3-5pm BST / 4-6pm CET

How to watch the Portuguese GP in UK & US

You can watch the Portuguese Grand Prix, as well as every other race, qualifying and practise sessions this season, on Sky Sports F1, which costs £18 per month on Sky TV, or £43 per month if you are new to Sky.

Advertisement
f1 daniel ricciardo mclaren
click to enlarge
+ 5
NEW BEGINNINGS: Ricciardo swears to ‘leave nothing on the table’ as McLaren debut approaches

Credit: Formula 1

You can also watch the Portuguese Grand Prix using Now TV, which offers Sky Sports Day Passes for £9.98, or monthly passes for £33.99.

Sky Sports Portuguese GP Schedule

  • Practice 1 - From 11am on Friday, 30 April (Sky Sports F1 HD)
  • Practice 2 - From 2:45pm on Friday, 30 April (Sky Sports F1 HD)
  • Practice 3 - From 11:45am on Saturday, 1 May (Sky Sports F1 HD)
  • Qualifying - From 2pm on Saturday, 1 May (Sky Sports F1 HD)
  • Grand Prix Sunday - From 1:30pm (Race from 3pm) on Sunday, 2 May (Sky Sports F1 HD)
Advertisement

All times UK.

There will also be extended highlights of the Portuguese GP on Channel 4.

Channel 4 Portuguese GP Schedule

  • Qualifying Highlights - From 6:30pm on Saturday, 1 May
  • Grand Prix Highlights - From 7:30pm on Sunday, 2 May

All times UK.

In the USA, it's ESPN that will be providing comprehensive coverage of the 2021 Portuguese Grand Prix, as well as races on every other circuit in the months to come.

ESPN Portuguese Schedule

  • Practice 1 - Friday, 30 April - From 6:25am (ESPN U)
  • Practice 2 - Friday, 30 April - From 9:55am (ESPN U)
  • Practice 3 - Saturday, 1 May - From 6:55am (ESPN 2)
  • Qualifying - Saturday, 1 May - From 9:55am (ESPN 2)
  • Grand Prix Sunday - Sunday, 2 May - From 8:30am (race at 10am) (ESPN)
Advertisement

All times Eastern.

US fans can also watch live F1 on YouTube TV, Sling TV and FuboTV.

For all the details on the next race of the F1 2021 season, click here.

*RealSport101 may receive a small commission if you click a link from one of our articles onto a retail website and make a purchase. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. For more information, see our Cookie Policy. All prices listed were accurate at the time of publishing.