15 Jul 2021 11:27 AM +00:00

PUBG's new map, Taego, is live with the 12.2 Update

We know PlayerUnknown's Battlegrounds always feels like it's on the backburner when we talk about BR games, but that doesn't mean it's dead yet. The new PUBG map is live and looks to be a game-changer.

Jump To

LATEST - Update 12.2 Is Now Live

The new PUBG map, Taego, is now live as part of the 12.2 update. It comes with its own exclusive weapon, vehicle and mechanics.

The patch notes are full of fixes across multiple parts of PUBG, but Taego is easily the biggest content headline in the update.

PUBG Confirm Staggered Launch With New Teaser

Taego really does look like it could be the best PUBG map out there. We don't see new maps added to PUBG everyday, mind, so - we admit - it's a little rich making those claims. However, there's just so much on offer in PUBG's new 8x8 battleground that we are confident enough to say that it's going to be well received.

Just from the short teaser clip below, we see the following locations:

  • A Rural Fishing Village;
  • A Sci-Fi Movie Set;
  • An Industrial Dock & Shipyard
  • A Prison;
  • A Military-Style Airfield
  • Woodlands & Hilly Regions

This clip is important for another reason, though. Through this, PUBG has confirmed that Taego is going to get a staggered launch. This isn't out of the ordinary for PUBG updates, but confirmation is welcome.

Taego will launch with PUBG's 12.2 Update on July 7th for PC and July 15th for Consoles.

Advertisement

The New PUBG Map Looks Very Good

Taego is a varied-terrain 8x8 map that is aiming to appeal to fans of the original PUBG map: Erangel. It's going to feature clustered towns and compounds alongside open fields and foliage.

However, this isn't all... There are two new weapons that will be exclusive to Taego upon launch: The K2 Assault Rifle and the Mk12 DMR.

New PUBG Map K2 12.2
click to enlarge
OPEN FIRE - The K2 is one weapon you'll only be able to find on Taego

In addition to this, the following will also be exclusive to Taego for the time being:

  • New Vehicle: The Pony Coupe
  • New Game Mode: Comeback BR
  • New Feature: Self AED
Advertisement

For a summary of everything you need to know about the new PUBG map, specifically, here's the section of the 12.2 Patch Notes that relates to it:

  • Taego is available as the Featured Map.
  • Playable in TPP and FPP.
    • Solo and Squads, including 1-man Squad Modes, are available.
    • Duos are not available.
    • Depending on your region, available modes and perspectives will vary.
  • Up to 100 players.
  • Bots can spawn.
  • Clear weather.
  • No Red Zone.
  • Wildlife: Two friendly bird varieties reside throughout Taego, reacting to player movement and gunfire.
  • Taego is available in Custom Matches.
    • Sandbox Mode is available for PUBG Partners.
Advertisement

PUBG 12.2 Update Release Date

It's all well and good knowing everything we do about this new map, but when does it all actually get added to PUBG?

The new PUBG map, Taego, is due to be added to PUBG in the 12.2 Update that's scheduled to be released on July 7th. We don't have a specific time for this, yet, but we can use the 12.1 Update to make an educated guess as to when it will be added to the live servers.

PUBG's last update was released at 01:30 PST / 04:30 EST / 09:30 BST on release day and there was around eight hours of Server Downtime, starting at 17:30 PST (Day Before) / 20:30 EST (Day Before) / 01:30 BST. With this in mind, we could see something similar from PUBG on July 7th regarding the 12.2 Update.

You can check out the official Patch Report ahead of July 7th below: