Are Fortnite Servers Down?

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook

If you're having trouble logging into Fortnite - or connecting to a game - you're not alone. There's nothing more frustrating than having issues with your connection, especially when you don't have a lot of time to dedicate to gaming.

Here's the latest on the Fortnite servers and what we know about their status so far...

Are Fortnite Servers Down?

At the moment, it looks like the Fortnite servers are experiencing issues with logging in, matchmaking and several other services - for example, buying V-bucks. This could be a knock-on effect from people checking the Epic Games Store for today's free game - so don't worry too much.

Here's the acknowledgment from Epic Games:

Advertisement
Advertisement
fortnite servers live
click to enlarge
+ 2

With any luck, this outage will be resolved soon.

PLANNED OUTAGE - When Will Fortnite Servers Be Down?

Fortnite Servers are currently scheduled to go down for the next major update which is believed to be in the new year. It would be on Tuesday, 11 January but this is yet to be confirmed.

Advertisement
fortnite servers update
click to enlarge
+ 2

Matchmaking will be disabled an hour before this time at around 08:30 GMT / 03:30 ET / 00:30 PT. This is to allow the update to happen without any ongoing issues being caused in-game. The servers will then be shut off at the time of the update.

The Fortnite servers are not expected to return for at least an hour although an exact time and date are yet to be confirmed by either Epic Games or Fortnite leakers. We'll keep you updated when we know more.