WoW Classic WotLK Phase 2 - release date, Ulduar, Argent Tournament, Emblems & more

wotlk classic

wotlk classic

This article contains information about the 'release-date' of either a movie, game or product. Unless stated explicitly, release dates are speculative & subject to change. See something wrong? Contact us here

World of Warcraft: Classic's latest expansion, Wrath of the Lich King, has been live for nearly five months, which means that it's time for new content to be added.

Luckily, the developers over at Blizzard Entertainment have the right thing in mind—WoW Classic WotLK Phase 2.

Don't Miss It: Discover Razer's Ultimate Gaming Laptops Now

WoW Classic WotLK Phase 2 Release Date

World of Warcraft Wrath of the Lich King Classic Phase 2 goes live on Tuesday, January 17, 2023.

Up to this point, WoW Classic players have gotten nearly four months with the latest Wrath of the Lich King expansion, getting a chance to play the new Death Knight class, traverse the vast lands of Northrend, take the fight to three raids—Naxxramas, the Obsidian Sanctum, and the Eye of Eternity—and more.

Now it's time for new content with phase 2.

New Ulduar Raid in WoW Classic WotLK

Taking part in WoW Classic WotLK Phase 2 is the expansion's next raid Ulduar.

Set to release on Thursday, January 19, 2023, Ulduar brings a whopping 14 bosses to fight with some restricted to Hard mode.

The unique aspect of Ulduar is its Hard Modes feature in place of a Heroic mode, allowing players to increase the difficulty of encounters by taking on new challenges for more rewards specific to each boss. These shake up how players approach boss encounters, and in the end, also offer some important achievements.

Here are all of the Ulduar bosses in WoW Classic WotLK:

  • Flame Leviathon
  • Ignis the Furnace Master
  • Razorscale
  • XT-002 Deconstructor
  • Assembly of Iron
  • Kologarn
  • Auriaya
  • Freya
  • Hodir
  • Mimiron
  • Thorim
  • General Vezax
  • Yogg-Saron
  • Algalon the Observer

Ten of these 14 bosses will be doable in hard mode, These are: Flame Leviathan, XT-002 Deconstructor, Assembly of Iron, Freya, Hodir, Thorim, Mimiron, General Vezax, Yogg-Saron, and Algalon the Observer. Algalon is WoW's first hard mode only encounter.

Players can also earn over 140 Ulduar achievements across 10 and 25-man modes, all capping off with the following:

  • Glory of the Ulduar Raider (10 and 25 Man)
    • The 10 man version of this achievement rewards the Rusted Proto Drake
    • The 25 man version of this achievement rewards the Ironbound Proto Drake

Dungeon and Raid Emblem Changes

With WoW Classic WotLK Phase 2, players will have a new Emblem type—the Emblem of Conquest. These emblems can be obtained from all bosses in Ulduar and from the “Proof of Demise” Heroic Dungeon daily quests.

The new emblem type will push other ones such as Valor and Heroism down. Emblems of Valor will now be obtained from all Heroic dungeon bosses, and from the Normal Dungeon daily quests “Timear Foresees…”. Emblems of Heroism, on the other hand, will no longer be obtained from Heroic dungeon bosses, instead, players can only exchange Emblems of Conquest or Valor for Emblems of Heroism at a money changer in Dalaran.

Players can go to Usuri Brightcoin located at The Cantrips & Crows Tavern in The Underbelly to do so.

New Emblem of Conquest Vendors

Thanks to the release of Emblems of Conquest, players can go to new vendors in Dalaran that accept Emblems of Conquest in exchange for powerful loot like neck, waist, hands, and leg slot items, as well as select Raid Set items and Deadly Gladiator PvP Sets.

These vendors are located in the Sunreaver’s Sanctuary for the Horde and The Silver Enclave for the Alliance.

The Argent Tournament Begins

Preparing for the challenges ahead, the Argent Crusade have taken a foothold in Arthas's backyard, beginning their preparations.

Located off the northeastern coast of Icecrown, they have sounded the call for the most bold and brave adventurers of the Horde and Alliance to take part in the Argent Tournament.

The tournament grounds are still under construction, however, players can still travel to Icecrown and visit the Argent Tournament Grounds to complete daily quests in preparation for what's next.

Titan Rune Dungeons

A brand-new difficulty has been added to all level 80 Heroic dungeons.

When these dungeons are under the effects of the Mysterious Titanic Relic, all enemies in the dungeon gain additional health and damage and additional effects, depending on the dungeon.

Titan Rune Dungeons will drop Normal 10-player versions of Naxxramas, Eye of Eternity, and The Obsidian Sanctum.

Brand-new PvP Season: Season 6

A new WoW Classic phase means a brand-new PvP season and for Wrath of the Lich King Classic, players can expect Season 6 to show up.

At the end of Season 6, qualifying players will receive the “Furious Gladiator” title and the fearsome Furious Gladiator’s Frost Wyrm mount. Rating requirements to obtain Furious Gladiator’s gear remains unchanged from Season 5.

Additionally, gear from previous Arena Seasons, including Season 5 gear, can be obtained from Arena and Honor vendors with adjusted costs in some cases, and no rating requirements across the board.

This Article's Topics

Explore new topics and discover content that's right for you!

World of WarcraftMore