FIFA 20 Career Mode: Who wins the Ballon d’Or for the next 15 seasons?!

Move over Messi & Ronaldo, EA believe these young guns (and beyond) will steal the crown.

Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi have dominated the Ballon d’Or award for the past 12 years with only Luka Modric breaking the mould.

Who will dominate in the years to come?

Streamer BCHDGaming simmed through FIFA 20 Career Mode one season at a time to discover which player had picked up the Player of the Year award (conveniently the same shape as the Ballon d’Or).

We look at who FIFA 20 Career Mode thinks will be on top of the world for each of the next 15 seasons.

NOW WATCH BELOW: How to get the most out of Career Mode in FIFA 20!

2019: Lionel Messi (OVR 94)

The status quo returned as Argentine ace Lionel Messi took back the Ballon d’Or earning his sixth title and his first since 2015.

An overall of 94 shows Messi to still be at the top of his game and FIFA 20 reckons he will claim the title in 2019.

2020: Lionel Messi (OVR 93)

An overall of 93 shows a slight decline although Messi is still the greatest player on the game in 2020.

With his Barcelona contract expiring in the summer, this is the last Player of the Year prize the little magician will take home.

2021: Kylian Mbappe (OVR 93)

Staying at PSG, French wonderkid Kylian Mbappe claims his first of many Ballon d’Or awards in 2021 with a massive overall of 93.

READ MORE: Community praise FUT 20 First Owner Objectives

Whether he stays in France remains to be seen in the real world, however FIFA 20 expects him to stay throughout his career. An interesting aspect is one of the contenders, a 33-year-old Robert Lewandowski, has moved to Real Marid.

2022: Bernardo Silva (OVR 90)

You can’t keep the Ballon d’Or out of Portugal for long! In the year that Cristiano Ronaldo’s career came to an end, Bernardo Silva claimed his first title still plying his trade for the blue half of Manchester.

With David Silva long gone and Kevin De Bruyne on the decline, it looks like Bernardo Silva and Raheem Sterling are the two star men for Pep Guardiola’s City.

2023: Bernardo Silva (OVR 90)

Man City wizard Bernardo Silva took the award home again in 2023 as Man City had a period of dominance which included nominations for Raheem Sterling and Mohamed Salah.

The pair can’t seem to break the stronghold of Silva and Mbappe, despite at least one of the Premier League winners being nominated each season.

2024: Joao Felix (OVR 93)

An interesting shortlist in 2024 with 31-year-old Mauro Icardi playing for Wolfsburg, Joao Felix, Mohamed Salah and Kylian Mbappe all nominated.

READ MORE: FIFA 20 Ultimate Team – Best 100k Team

Portuguese star Joao Felix becomes the second player from the country to win the Balon D’or since Ronaldo. Felix’s rating has climbed from 80 to 93 in the space of five years, which appears to make him the highest rated player on the game.

2025: Raheem Sterling (OVR 90)

The first English winner of the Balon D’or since Michael Owen, Raheem Sterling now aged 31 and rated 90 overall beat City teammates Bernardo Silva and yes, HARRY KANE to the award.

Keep an eye out on your Career Mode for fellow nominee Takefusa Kubo. The Real Madrid man starts at a 70 overall but can reach a potential of 87.

2026: Raheem Sterling (OVR 89)

A now 32-year-old Sterling is on the decline but still picks up his second award in 2026, once again beating Kane as well as Mbappe and Felix in an All-Star nominee list.

It looks as if Harry Kane’s move to Man City has come too late, with the striker now aged 33.

2027: Kylian Mbappe (OVR 95)

Mbappe finally claimed the second of his Player of the Year titles six years after his first. Now 28 and still scoring goals for PSG, the French superstar is about to embark on a string of individual awards placing him among the greatest to have ever played the game.

READ MORE: How to score long shots on FIFA 20

We have a new nominee on the cards as well, with another Real Madrid wonderkid Rodrygo joining the fray.

Click ‘Next’ to continue reading…

Michael Wicherek

Studying BA Sports Journalism at University of South Wales, Cardiff.

Keen sportsman, currently representing University of South Wales football club.