Battlefield 2042: Do you need Xbox Live to play the Open Beta & Full Release?

Jump To

We've been waiting for Battlefield 2042 for a long time and we're finally looking at the Open Beta - however, do you need Xbox Live to play the Battlefield 2042 Open Beta and full release? The game isn't going to be free, but it is a multiplayer-only experience. Here's everything we know so far.

OPEN BETA - Do you need Xbox Live?

According to BravoIntel, you will need an active Xbox Live Gold subscription if you want to participate in the Battlefield 2042 Open Beta.

FULL RELEASE - Do you need Xbox Live then?

Advertisement

At the moment, we're unsure. The general rule of thumb is that free-to-play games are free to play on Xbox consoles. This means you won't need an active Xbox Live Gold subscription to play them.

Battlefield 2042, however, isn't a free to play game. Therefore, we think it's unlikely that you'll be able to play it wihtout an active Xbox Live Gold subscription.

EA hasn't stated otherwise, so we're under the impression that you will need an active Xbox Live Gold membership to play Battlefield 2042 when it releases on November 19th.

START DATE - When does the Open Beta begin?

Battlefield 2042's Beta is going to be available in two stages: Firstly, there's going to be an Early Access Beta period - then, this will be followed by a General Access Open Beta. If you have pre-ordered Battlefield 2042 - or if you're an active EA Play member - you'll have access to the Battlefield 2042 Open Beta early.

As for the specific times, the Battlefield 2042 Beta starts at the following times:

  • Early Access - Preorders and EA Play
    • 00:00 PST - October 6th
    • 03:00 EST - October 6th
    • 08:00 BST - October 6th
  • General Access - Open Beta for everyone
    • 00:00 PST - October 8th
    • 03:00 EST - October 8th
    • 08:00 BST - October 8th

" Adapt and overcome in the near-future, all-out war of Battlefield 2042. Put boots on the ground in the classic Conquest mode on Orbital – a map where enemy fire and chaotic weather conditions can help or hinder your fight."

If you're looking forward to playing the Battlefield 2042 Open Beta on Xbox Live, you should be able to preload it from the following times on October 5th:

  • 00:00 PST
  • 03:00 EST
  • 08:00 BST
Advertisement

Happy hunting, soldier!