F1 16 Apr 2021 9:50 AM +00:00

Latest details on the Imola weekend schedule changes

+ 6
Jump To
Advertisement

Formula 1 action is finally back this weekend!

So, we're bringing you all the details on the next race of the F1 2021 season, including the latest news, the new Imola GP weekend timetable, and how you can watch the event live in the UK and USA.

Latest - Verstappen to raise issue with drivers ahead of Imola GP

Max Verstappen will raise the issue of track limits ahead of the Grand Prix at Imola after he was denied victory for going out of bounds battling Lewis Hamilton in the Bahrain season-opener.

Advertisement
verstappen red bull f1
click to enlarge
+ 6
PREPARED FOR BATTLE: It's Verstappen vs Hamilton Round 2 in Italy this weekend

Credit: F1

Verstappen was forced to give his lead back to Hamilton late in the Bahrain GP as the Dutchman was deemed to have exceeded track limits when passing the Briton at Turn 4.

Now in Imola for this weekend' Emilia Romagna Grand Prix, the Red Bull driver said he was baffled as to why Hamilton didn’t get penalised for exceeding track limits at the same corner, and echoed his Team Principal Christian Horner's calls for consistency.

"We’ll talk about that with the drivers and also with Michael [Masi, FIA Race Director] about it" Verstappen said.

Advertisement

Current F1 Standings

With Bahrain now behind us, we can take an early look at the F1 2021 standings.

Formula 1 World Drivers' Championship standings

Pos. Driver Nat. Constructor Pts
1Lewis HamiltonGBRMercedes25
2Max VerstappenNEDRed Bull18
3Valtteri BottasFINMercedes16
4Lando NorrisGBTMcLaren12
5Sergio PerezMEXRed Bull10
6Charles LeclercMONFerrari8
7Daniel RicciardoAUSMcLaren6
8Carlos Sainz JrESPFerrari4
9Yuki TsunodaJAPAlphaTauri2
10Lance StrollCANAston Martin1

Kimi Raikkonen, Antonio Giovinazzi (both Alfa Romeo), Fernando Alonso, Esteban Ocon (both Alpine), George Russell, Niholas Latifi (both Williams), Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin), Nikita Mazepin, Mick Schumacher (both Haas) and Pierre Gasly (AlphaTauri) are yet to score points.

Formula 1 World Constructors' Championship standings

Pos. Constructor Pts
1Mercedes41
2Red Bull28
3McLaren18
4Ferrari12
5AlphaTauri2
6Aston Martin1

Alfa Romeo, Alpine, Williams and Haas are yet to score points.

Imola GP Weekend Timetable

Formula 1 and the FIA have adjusted the Imola GP schedule in order to respect the funeral service of His Royal Highness The Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh.

The Duke of Edinburgh's funeral is to be held at St George's Chapel, Windsor, at 3pm BST on Saturday, 17 April.

Advertisement
2021 formula 1 cars
click to enlarge
+ 6
RAPID RED BULL: Despite Verstappen coming out second best to the Mercedes, the Red Bull car definitely has what it takes to challenge for the title

Credit: Formula 1

Practice 1 - Friday, 16 April - 5-6am ET / 10-11am BST / 11am-12pm CET

Practice 2 - Friday, 16 April - 8:30-9:30am ET / 1:30-2:30pm BST / 2:30-3:30pm CET

Advertisement

Practice 3 - Saturday, 17 April - 5-6am ET / 10-11am BST / 11am-12pm CET

Qualifying - Saturday, 17 April - 8-9am ET / 1-2pm BST / 2-3pm CET

Race - Sunday, 18 April - 9-11am ET / 2-4pm BST / 3-5pm CET

How to watch the next F1 race

You’ll be able to watch the Emilia Romagna GP, along with every other race, qualifying and practise sessions of the 2021 season on Sky Sports F1, which costs £18 per month on Sky TV, or £43 per month if you are new to Sky.

Aston Martin Formula 1 AMR21
click to enlarge
+ 6
GUESS WHO'S BACK: Aston Martin return to Formula 1 after more than sixty years

Credit: Formula 1

You can also watch using Now TV, which offers Sky Sports Day Passes for £9.98, or monthly passes for £33.99.

Sky Sports Emilia Romagna Schedule

  • Practice 1 - From 9:30am on Friday, 16 April (Sky Sports F1 HD)
  • Practice 2 - From 1:15pm on Friday, 16 April (Sky Sports F1 HD)
  • Practice 3 - From 9:45am on Saturday, 17 April (Sky Sports F1 HD)
  • Qualifying - From 12pm on Saturday, 17 April (Sky Sports F1 HD)
  • Grand Prix Sunday - From 12:30pm (Race from 2pm) on Sunday, 18 April (Sky Sports F1 HD)
Advertisement

All times UK.

Extended highlights of the Emilia Romagna GP will also be available on Channel 4.

Channel 4 Emilia Romagna Schedule

  • Qualifying Highlights - 6:30pm-8pm on Saturday, 17 April
  • Grand Prix Highlights - 8:30pm-11pm on Sunday, 18 April

All times UK.

In the USA, it's ESPN that will be providing comprehensive coverage of the 2021 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix.

ESPN Emilia Romagna Schedule

  • Practice 1 - Friday, 16 April - From 5:55am (ESPN 2)
  • Practice 2 - Friday, 16 April - From 8:25am (ESPN U)
  • Practice 3 - Saturday, 17 April - From 5:55am (ESPN 2)
  • Qualifying - Saturday, 17 April - From 7:55am (ESPN 2)
  • Grand Prix Sunday - Sunday, 18 April - From 8:55am (race at 9am) (ESPN)
Advertisement

All times Eastern.

We will update this schedule with exact TV timings once they are released.

Fans situated in the USA can also watch live F1 on YouTube TV, Sling TV and FuboTV.

For more details on how to watch the Imola GP, click here!

Imola Grand Prix Circuit Guide

Here's what you can expect from the Imola GP circuit.

emilia romagna circuit f1 2021
click to enlarge
+ 6
OLD-SCHOOL CIRCUIT: The anti-clockwise circuit is very fast, as the drivers put it on the line in iconic corners like the Acque Minerali

Credit: F1

Advertisement

Number of Laps: 63

Circuit Lenght: 4.909km

Race Distance: 309.049 km

Lap Record: 1:15.484 Lewis Hamilton (2020)

What is the Emilia Romagna Grand Prix?

The Emilia Romagna GP will be held at the Autodromo Internazionale Enzo e Dino Ferrari, better known as Imola - the town where it is located.

Bahrain grand prix 2021 f1
click to enlarge
+ 6
ELECTRIFYING OPENER: Lewis Hamilton wins a brilliant tight race under the lights in Bahrain

Credit: Formula 1

Advertisement

Imola returned to the F1 calendar amid the Covid-19 disruptions of 2020, and takes its place in the calendar this year.

The Emilia Romagna Grand Prix will take place over 63 laps of the 4.959-kilometre track, former home of the San Marino GP.

You can find the full weekend schedule, including details of practice and qualifying sessions, support races and press conferences here.

2021 F1 Calendar

Coronavirus-related disruption means that like in 2020, we’ll see cars whizzing around tracks that don’t usually appear on the calendar.

f1 bahrain gp
click to enlarge
+ 6
LIGHTS OUT: With pre-season testing now completed, the 2021 F1 calendar gets underway in Bahrain

Credit: Formula 1

These include Australia, USA, Brazil, and perhaps most notably, Monaco.

28 March: Bahrain Grand Prix, Sakhir
18 April: Emilia Romagna Grand Prix, Imola, Italy
2 May: Portuguese Grand Prix, Portimao
9 May: Spanish Grand Prix, Barcelona
23 May: Monaco Grand Prix, Monte Carlo
6 June: Azerbaijan Grand Prix, Baku
13 June: Canadian Grand Prix, Montreal
27 June: French Grand Prix, Le Castellet
2 July: Austrian Grand Prix, Spielberg
18 July: British Grand Prix, Silverstone
1 August: Hungarian Grand Prix, Budapest
29 August: Belgian Grand Prix, Spa-Francorchamps
5 September: Dutch Grand Prix, Zandvoort
12 September: Italian Grand Prix, Monza
26 September: Russian Grand Prix, Sochi
3 October: Singapore Grand Prix, Marina Bay
10 October: Japanese Grand Prix, Suzuka
24 October: United States Grand Prix, Austin
31 October: Mexican Grand Prix, Mexico City
7 November: Brazilian Grand Prix, São Paulo
21 November: Australian Grand Prix, Melbourne
5 December: Saudi Arabian Grand Prix, Jeddah
12 December: Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, Yas Marina, UAE

*RealSport101 may receive a small commission if you click a link from one of our articles onto a retail website and make a purchase. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. For more information, see our Cookie Policy. All prices listed were accurate at the time of publishing.