PS Plus December 2021: Confirmed Free Games, Release Date, & More

Jump To

Free PlayStation games are always good, aren't they? Well, December 2021's selection of free PS Plus games has just been confirmed and there's a lot on offer this month. Here's the latest...

CONFIRMED - December 2021 PS Plus Games

In a move that has shocked no one, the leaked line-up was right and we're getting the following games in December 2021's PS Plus line-up:

  • Godfall (PS5)
  • Mortal Shell (PS4)
  • LEGO DC Super Villains (PS4)

They're not the worst games out there, but there's nothing groundbreaking here. It'll keep us playing over the festive period, but you have to imagine that PlayStation is going to want to open up 2022 with something unmissable.

UPDATE - Announcement Time & Details

If everything goes to plan - well, the loose plan that PlayStation follows - we should see next month's PS Plus games announced later today at the following times:

  • December 1st - 08:30 PST
  • December 1st - 11:30 EST
  • December 1st - 16:30 GMT
Advertisement

It's worth taking this with a pinch of salt, but PlayStation always announces these things a week before they're due to take place and we haven't seen anything to suggest that the announcement is going to be pushed back.

More free PlayStation 5 games?

If you're looking for a free game outside the realms of PS Plus, might we suggest Dauntless? This free-to-play "action RPG" is getting a native next-gen release on December 2nd and it's well worth checking out - think Fortnite meets Monster Hunter.

The PS5 release of Dauntless is offering updated visuals, DualSense support, 3D audio, faster loading times, and the new "Call to Arms" content update. It's the perfect time to check it out and you can learn more below:

LEAKED LINE-UP - Is this what we're getting?

PS Plus leaks are commonplace nowadays and this month's free PS Plus games are once again being leaked ahead of time. French gaming site Dealabs has struck again, offering us a selection of free games that could be coming to PS Plus for free in December 2021.

It's worth taking all of this with a pinch of salt, but they're usually right. Here's what we could be getting:

  • Godfall (PS5)
  • Mortal Shell (PS4)
  • LEGO DC Super Villains (PS4)
PS Plus December 2021
click to enlarge
TROUBLED - Godfall never really took off so this could be huge

Are you happy with these? It certainly seems like a better selection than last month.

Advertisement

When do the PS Plus games update online?

If you're already looking for the next batch of free PS Plus games, you're going to have to wait a little bit longer than you might think.

PlayStation's current selection of games, which you can see below, will be available until December 6th. This means we're not going to see the next batch of PS Plus games made available until December 7th.

We don't know the exact times, but they're usually available at the following times:

  • 03:00 PST
  • 06:00 EST
  • 11:00 GMT
Advertisement

On occasion, you can search for the individual game in the PS Store at midnight local time and they might already be active PS Plus games and available to download.

FREE GAMES - Confirmed PS Plus games

At the moment, we only know about three free PS Plus games for December 2021 - and they're all PSVR titles.

Last month, PlayStation celebrated PSVR's 5th Anniversary and released three PSVR titles on PS Plus alongside the standard selection of games. Unlike the regular titles, these PSVR titles are going to be available until the start of January. So... In December 2021, you can still pick up the following games for free:

  • The Walking Dead: Saints & Sinners (PSVR)
  • The Persistence (PSVR)
  • Until You Fall (PSVR)
Advertisement

You can read more about last month's games in the Tweet from PlayStation below: