17 Jul 2021 4:06 PM +00:00

Everything You Need To Know About The British GP

After Verstappen's excellent drive in the Austrian GP, the drivers are heading back to the home of racing, as next up is the British Grand Prix!

Jump To

With the British GP up next, check out all the latest details on the practice, qualifying and race sessions below.

LATEST - Verstappen On Pole Following Sprint Qualifying

In a complete diversion from the usual method of qualifying, the British GP saw the introduction of the 'Sprint' format. Used in F2 racing, a usual qualifying event took place yesterday to determine the grid placement for today's race.

Advertisement

The 17 lap sprint race then determined the starting order for the full length race tomorrow. For winning the Sprint, Max also earns 3 chapionship points. Hamilton and Bottas earn 2 and 1 point respectively for finishing 2nd and 3rd.

Current Driver Standings

The British GP weekend was the most dominant weekend of Max Verstappen's F1 career and quite possibly where the Dutchman became the true favourite for the 2021 championship.

Advertisement
f1 driver standings july 2021
click to enlarge
+ 4
DOMINANT DRIVE: Verstappen was flawless last weekend

Hamilton is still well in the race but sits 32 points behind the Red Bull driver.

Sergio Perez currently sits in third place, with Lando Norris and Valtteri Bottas battling it out too.

George Russell, Mick Schumacher, Nikita Mazepin and Nicholas Latifi are all still yet to score points.

British GP Circuit Guide

The drivers will head to Silverstone for the British Grand Prix.

Advertisement
British grand prix f1 2021 circuit Silverstone
click to enlarge
+ 4
SILVERSTONE: It's been 71 Years since the first British GP at the legendary tack

Credit: F1

Advertisement

Silverstone will host the next race and is another exciting track for competitive racing.

Number of Laps: 52

Circuit Length: 5.891km

Race Distance: 306.198 km

Lap Record: 1:27.097 - Max Verstappen (2020)

British Grand Prix Weekend Timetable

F1 2021 mercedes red bull
click to enlarge
+ 4
RESPECT: Mercedes and Red Bull are no doubt the front runners for the 2021 F1 Championship

Credit: F1

Advertisement

Practice 1 - Friday, 16 July - 9.30-0.30am ET / 14.30-15.30am BST / 15.30-16.30pm CET

Practice 2 - Saturday, 17 July - 07.00-8.00am ET / 12.00-13.00pm BST / 13.00-14.00pm CET

Qualifying - Friday, 16 July - 13.00-14.00pm ET / 18.00-19.00pm BST / 19.00-20.00pm CET

Race - Sunday, 18 July - 10.00-12.00pm ET / 15.00-17.00pm BST / 16.00-18.00pm CET

How to watch the British Grand Prix

You can watch the British Grand Prix and every other race, qualifying and practise sessions this season, on Sky Sports F1, which costs £18 per month on Sky TV, or £43 per month if you are new to Sky.

f1 daniel ricciardo mclaren
click to enlarge
+ 4
NEW BEGINNINGS: Ricciardo swears to ‘leave nothing on the table’ as McLaren debut season arrives

Credit: Formula 1

You can also watch the British Grand Prix using Now TV, which offers Sky Sports Day Passes for £9.98, or monthly passes for £33.99.

Sky Sports British GP Schedule

  • Practice 1 - From 2.30pm on Friday, 16 July (Sky Sports F1 HD)
  • Practice 2 - From 12pm on Saturday, 17 July (Sky Sports F1 HD)
  • Qualifying - From 6pm on Friday, 16 July (Sky Sports F1 HD)
  • Grand Prix Sunday - From 1pm (Race from 3pm) on Sunday, 18 July (Sky Sports F1 HD)
Advertisement

All times UK.

There will also be extended highlights of the British GP on Channel 4.

Channel 4 British GP Schedule

  • Qualifying Highlights - Saturday, 17 July (time tbc)
  • Grand Prix Highlights - Sunday, 18 July (time tbc)
Advertisement

All times UK.

In the USA, it's ESPN that will be providing comprehensive coverage of the 2021 British Grand Prix and provide races on every other circuit in the months to come.

ESPN British Schedule

  • Practice 1 - Friday, 16 July - From 9.30am (ESPN 2)
  • Practice 2 - Saturday, 17 July - From 7.00am (ESPN U)
  • Qualifying - Friday, 16 July - From 1.00pm (ESPN 2)
  • Grand Prix Sunday - Sunday, 18 July - From 6.30am (race at 10am) (ESPN)
Advertisement

All times Eastern.

US fans can also watch live F1 on YouTube TV, Sling TV and FuboTV.