header decal


10 May 2018

New Zealand Warriors: Their Best 17

New Zealand Warriors: Their Best 17

Continuing RealSport’s special series; we start a debate about who the best 17 ever are for the New Zealand Warriors.

The Warriors started in 1995 with an array of talented New Zealanders returning home to make the club competitive immediately.  They’ve made two grand finals (2002 and 2011), but unfortunately haven’t won a competition yet.  The names below read like a Who’s Who of New Zealand greats of the last 23 years.  

Picking players across eras is never an exact science.  An author can do all the research in the world and still never be 100% sure about the selections put forward.  Sure, there are certainties for every team of this nature, but let this not end the debate; let it start one.

The main criteria is that each player has been selected on the strength of their performances for the club in question (not representative football and not for other clubs).  They may have only been at the club for a short time, but if they’ve made Their Best 17, it’s because of the undeniable quality they produced during that time.

So let the debate begin!