22 Jun 2021 12:25 PM +00:00

When does Sea of Thieves' Pirates of the Caribbean-themed season start?

It's finally here! Sea of Thieves' newest update, A Pirate's Life, might just be the best update Rare has introduced to the game yet. Here's everything we know about it now that it's out.

Jump To

LATEST - Server Downtime Has Ended

Jack Sparrow is here to sort everything else out, savvy?

A Pirate's Life kicks off Sea of Thieves Season 3 with an incredible crossover between Rare's swashbuckling co-operative game and Disney's Pirates of the Caribbean series. It's going to be absolutely huge.

Davy Jones doesn't stand a chance, does he?

Server Downtime Has Started

Sea of Thieves Season 3, which introduces the A Pirate's Life content to the game, is due to release on June 22nd. Server downtime started at 02:00 PST / 05:00 EST / 10:00 BST by Rare to start introducing the content to the game.

Sea of Thieves confirmed this on Twitter, which you can see below:

Advertisement

We don't know for sure when the server downtime is due to end, but in recent seasons this has only lasted a couple of hours.

With this in mind, we're expecting to see Sea of Thieves A Pirate's Life to go live around 04:00 PST / 07:00 EST / 12:00 BST. We are expecting further word from Rare if the server downtime lasts longer than this.

What Is A Pirate's Life?

Rare has really pushed the boat out with this season of Sea of Thieves content (pun fully intended) and it looks like A Pirate's Life could be the best update the game has ever seen.

A Pirate's Life will see Jack Sparrow join your ship's crew as you take on Davy Jones and all of the other dangers he brings.

Advertisement

This Sea of Thieves update is going to bring iconic locations and music from both Disney's Pirates of the Caribbean movie series and the Pirates of the Caribbean Disneyland attraction. It looks to be the perfect continuation of bringing these stories and adventures to fans.

Advertisement

You'll even be able to unlock Jack Sparrow's get-up and a cute little dog companion. A Pirate's Life is just one part of this collaboration...

Sea of Thieves isn't done with you yet and you're going to find out why soon.

*RealSport101 may receive a small commission if you click a link from one of our articles onto a retail website and make a purchase. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. For more information, see our Cookie Policy. All prices listed were accurate at the time of publishing.