Warzone Ricochet Anti-Cheat: Release Date, Update Details, & More

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook

Table of Contents

Vanguard is here and we're finally one step closer to the release of Warzone's Ricochet Anti-Cheat system. It's going to be a game-changer, alongside the Warzone Pacific update, and should help Warzone improve. We know when we're getting it and here's everything you need to know about the release date we've been given for the Warzone anti-cheat system.

RELEASE DATE - When does Ricochet drop?

Call of Duty has confirmed that Warzone's Ricochet Anti-Cheat system is going to drop alongside Vanguard Season One and the Warzone Pacific update. We don't know how this is going to work in practice just yet, it might not be as effective as everyone hopes, but at least we know when it's coming.

You can check out the loosely detailed Season One Roadmap below - we expect this to be added to over the next few weeks.

Advertisement
Call of Duty Vanguard Warzone Anti-Cheat System
click to enlarge
CONTENT ROADMAP - Vanguard Season 1 is coming...
" As part of the Season One update, RICOCHET Anti-Cheat will deploy the server-side upgrades to Warzone as well as a new, internally developed kernel-level driver on PC to assist in identifying cheaters, which can allow players on all platforms to focus more on the fun new offerings across Vanguard and Warzone Pacific."

Vanguard Season One - which will include the Warzone Pacific update and the Ricochet Anti-Cheat system, is due to arrive on December 2nd.

Advertisement

ANTI-CHEAT - Ricochet is coming...

Activision has announced a PC kernel-level Anti-Cheat system called Ricochet - it's coming to Vanguard at launch and it's coming to Warzone at the same time as Vanguard integration.

At the moment, all we know is that it's going to need a high level of access on PCs in order to "monitor and manage software and applications" - This is raising some privacy and security concerns, however, it should only be on when Warzone is being run.

If you play on a console, the only difference you should notice is fewer cheaters in your lobbies.

An open letter to Warzone Cheaters...

Advertisement

Earlier this week, Call of Duty posted a tweet on social media that was more wordy than usual - It was a strangely confrontational open letter to cheaters. It seems far too late, but it's one way of announcing an announcement?

As you can see below, it's nothing out of the ordinary, but the tweet itself says "see you tomorrow". This leads us to believe that we're going to get an announcement and a release date for the new Warzone Anti-Cheat System on October 13th. This should be released between 09:00 PST / 12:00 EST / 17:00 BST and 10:00 PST / 13:00 EST / 18:00 BST.

"Dear Cheaters
"We love games. It's our passion. We're honored to make games for the greatest fans in the world. We don't always get it right, but we're committed to doing our best.
"Cheating ruins the fun for everyone. No one likes a cheater. Our goal is to deliver a fun and fair gaming experience. For our developers. For Our fans. And most importantly... For Call of Duty players everywhere.
"Cheaters aren't welcome. There's no tolerance for cheaters, and soon you'll know what we mean.
"Call of Duty"