RealSport101 Decal


22 Nov 2020

WoW Shadowlands Map: New Zones, Bastion, Ardenweald, Maldraxxus, Revendreth, Oribos, The Maw

World Of Warcraft has been a staple of PC gaming ever since it released in 2004, and it is still going strong to this day.

The latest WoW expansion, Shadowlands, was originally due out on October 27th but ended up being delayed until November 24th.

New Zones

Shadowlands will feature 6 new zones in the world, Bastion, Ardenweald, Maldraxxus, Revendreth, Oribos, and The Maw.

Every zone is unique and will offer plenty of content in terms of exploration and quests.

Here is some more information about each zone.


Shadowland Bastion art pack

Those who have lived a life of service are drawn to Bastion to assumed the highest duty of all — carrying the souls to the Shadowlands. Amongst Bastion's gleaming spires and sweeping vistas await challenges to test the mettle of the steadfast kyrians.

Bastion is a beacon for those who lived a life of service. Souls worthy enough to stand upon its fields soon face challenges in pursuit of their highest calling of all - carrying souls to the Shadowlands. A life of service determines who is worthy to tread upon the golden fields of Bastion. Stalwart commitment to their duties was their goal in life: ascension is their goal thereafter.


Shadowlands Ardenweald art pack

The vast forests of Ardenweald serve the natural aspects of life and death. Its wilds are a sanctuary for the great spirits of nature that seek respite and renewal before awakening to join the cycle anew. Ardenweald and the Emerald Dream are opposite blooms connected to the same tree. If the Dream is the personification of Life in the waxing stage, then Ardenweald is life when it is waning.

READ MORE: WoW Shadowlands: Base, Heroic, Epic Edition, Which Should You Buy? Anima Wyrmling Pet, Ensorcelled Everwyrm Flying Mount


Shadowlands Maldraxxus art pack

Maldraxxus is a realm of unending conflict. It is a place of brutality and bravery where its chosen are forged by the fires of war to answer a great calling: to protect the Shadowlands against any force that threatens its infinite realms. 

The First Ones who shaped the cosmos knew they needed to protect the Shadowlands from external threats and beyond. Maldraxxus was their answer. Maldraxxus is home to the mighty. Ours is a station for souls consumed with great determination, or for those who maintain an unending drive to make their mark upon death.

Those who strove for greatness in life may have the chance to find it in death. Maldraxxus is a realm where ambition is rewarded and where the strong of body and mind thrive.


Shadowlands Afterlives Revendreth

A realm of looming keeps and gothic villages, Revendreth is home to the venthyr, the harvesters of sin. The wretched souls who arrive here may find penance for their misdeeds... or merely indulge the appetites of their keepers.

Souls burdened with prodigious pride in life are sent to Revendreth at their end. Anima is tormented from them to feed the appetites of their keepers.

Learned humility was supposed to be the destiny of the souls entrusted to our care. I fear those archaic ways no longer have a place within Revendreth.

The Maw

Shadowland Press Kit Maw

In the deepest depths of the Shadowlands lies the inescapable Maw. The wretched souls imprisoned in this hopeless realm are the unforgiven and irredeemable. They are imprisoned forever and suffer without end, until they are twisted into a mere shade of their former glory. It is then that the tormented willingly serve their tormentor.


Shadowlands Oribos preview 1

Oribos is the arrival point for all souls who enter the Shadowlands. At this crossroads, the dead are judged by the impassive Arbiter before being sent to their final destinations, and Oribos' denizens swap gossip and anima—soulstuff that serves as both power and currency.

Oribos is the first destination of the departed. In the heart of the eternal city, mortal souls heed the judgement of the arbiter as their deeds in life are laid bare. Here is where their journey in death truly begins. 

Oribos is the gateway to the afterlives of the Shadowlands. The first sight a soul beholds with their newly unliving eyes after their arrival is the eternal city. We have the honor of beginning their journey to the hereafter. 

Oribos is sacred neutral ground. The vigil of the protectors of Oribos is a reminder to others dwelling within our halls that non shall ever threaten the sanctity of our eternal city.

READ MORE:World of Warcraft Loses 3 Million Subscribers in 3 Months

Realsport101 may receive a small commission if you click a link from one of our articles onto a retail website and make a purchase. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. For more information, see our Cookie Policy. All prices listed were accurate at the time of publishing.