06 Jul 2021 3:23 PM +00:00

When does Fallout 76's Steel Reign Expansion DLC come out?

Fallout 76 had a rocky launch but seven expansions later and it's a certified hit with fans of the franchise. Now, though, we're looking forwards to expansion number eight. Here's everything you need to know about Fallout 76's Steel Reign expansion and its release date.

Steel Reign Release Date

Following on from Locked & Loaded, Steel Reign is due to release for Xbox One, PC, and PlayStation 4 simultaneously on July 7th. Annoyingly, though, Bethesda hasn't revealed an exact time for the update.

However, based on past updates we are expecting to see everything go live around 11:00 PST / 14:00 EST / 19:00 BST on the Steel Reign release date. This is subject to change, of course, but Bethesda has been doing this for a while and there's nothing in there that's a major feature change.

Advertisement

That being said, what actually is coming in the Steel Reign update?

What We Know About Steel Reign So Far

Aside from the fact that there's going to be new story content relating to Fallout 76's Brotherhood of Steel, the main attraction of the Steel Reign update is the addition of Legendary Crafting and Legendary Power Armour.

There's going to be a new batch of item attributes that you can use to further improve and fine-tune the way you play Fallout 76 following the Steel Reign update. Weapon Attributes like Last Shot, which adds a 25% chance that the final round in a magazine deals double damage, are joining Legendary Armour Attributes like Burning, which adds a 5% chance to deal Fire Damage to melee attackers, to make for a deeper combat experience going forwards.

Advertisement

We also expect to see a few new items and quest-specific weapons and armour. However, Bethesda is keeping a tight lid on things ahead of the Steel Reign release date. We know there's going to be some fantastic surprises in there, though.