Far Cry 6: How to Change Difficulty

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook

The fictional island of Yara is full of bad guys that try to kill you. Sometimes the fights can be pretty tough and you'll want to change Far Cry 6's difficulty to make life a little easier. Thankfully you can do it whenever you'd like.

How to Change Difficulty in Far Cry 6

At the very start of the game, before you've even entered the world of Yara, you'll get the chance to set your difficulty.


However, unlike most games, Far Cry 6 does not have Easy, Normal, and Hard difficulties, with you only being able to choose between two options. Those options are:

  • Action Mode: Enemies are tougher and deal more damage (the traditional Far Cry experience)
  • Story Mode: Enemies are weaker and deal less damage

Don't worry too much about your decision, though, as you can change difficulty in Far Cry 6 whenever you want.

While playing, or struggling in a fight, simply pause the game and scroll over to the System tab on the right side of the menu.

far cry 6, change difficulty

Then, select Options, then Gameplay, and you'll see the option to change difficulty at the top of the list. You can then cycle between Action Mode and Story Mode whenever you'd like.

Is There a Difficulty Trophy or Achievement?

Thankfully, there's no need to worry about what difficulty you're changing to if you're chasing all of Far Cry 6's achievements and trophies.


There is no difficulty achievement or trophy, so you can work through the game on whatever difficulty you like and still be able to get the Platinum or all 1000 Gamerscore.

There's always a chance that Ubisoft add in a harder difficulty as DLC somewhere down the line, but we'll let you know if they do. For us, the normal action mode is tough enough.