FIFA 20: FUT Icons ratings revealed, including Zidane, Guardiola, Essien, Wright and more

Brand new FUT Icon cards are revealed ahead of FIFA 20’s official launch later this month.

Julian-Sims by Julian Sims

13 of the new FUT Icons have finally been revealed and some huge names will feature, including a few players that fans of certain Premier League clubs will be very fond of.

With Pele and Diego Maradona receiving ‘Prime Moments’ cards of 98 & 97 respectively, what do you expect Zidane’s rating to be?


Zinedine Zidane (OVR 91 – 96 – 94)

Considered to be one of the most talented players of all time, Zinedine Zidane is the first player to feature in FIFA 20’s FUT Icons selection. The Icons each have 3 cards, representing the beginning, prime and end of their career as a footballer.

“Zizou” has performed on the biggest stage – scoring two goals in the 1998 FIFA World Cup Final and a jaw-dropping volley in the 2002 UEFA Champions League Final.

We believe that his ‘Prime Moments’ card will based upon one of these two memorable moments in football history.

READ MORE: FIFA 20: Zidane’s rating finally revealed

Pep Guardiola (OVR 90 – 87 – 85)

A leader as a player and now as a manager, Pep Guardiola cemented his position in Barcelona’s starting line-up from the age of just 20.

Guardiola won 16 trophies with Barcelona, playing a pivotal role in their midfield for almost a decade, and was part of the ‘Dream Team’ with Johan Cruyff that won the double in 1991-92.

Michael Essien (OVR 85 – 90 – 87)

During his time with the Blues, Essien won two Premier League titles, four FA Cups, a League Cup and the famous Champions League win in 2012.  His move to the Premier League came of the back of two Ligue 1 titles in a row with Lyon, and claiming the Ligue 1 Player of the Year award in 2005.

“The Bison” would later play for Real Madrid, AC Milan, Panathinaikos, Indonesian side Persib Bandung and, now, Azerbaijan outfit Sabail. This makes him the only FUT 20 ICON still active in real life.

READ MORE: FIFA 20 Volta: New features & tips to be successful at the new street game mode


Gianluca Zambrotta (OVR 89 – 86 – 87)

One of Italian football’s greatest full backs, Gianluca Zambrotta formed a key part of a formidable Italian defence that conceded merely two goals on their way to winning the 2006 FIFA World Cup.

Zambrotta’s performances on the big stage were so influential that they earned him a place in the 2006 FIFA World Cup All-Star squad.

Kenny Dalglish (OVR 87 – 92 – 90)

Widely regarded as one of Liverpool and Celtic’s greatest players of all time, making over 300 appearances for both teams. Kenny Dalglish was part of a Liverpool squad that enjoyed an astonishing level of dominance both domestically and in Europe.

In his 13 years as a Red, ‘King Kenny’ won eight League and three European titles, alongside a stack of domestic cups, making himself an Anfield legend.

Dalglish returned to Liverpool in 2009 and ended up being appointed as manager after Roy Hodgson’s departure in 2011, cementing his status as a Liverpool legend.

READ MORE: Everything you need to know about FUT


John Barnes (OVR 89 – 87 – 86)

Blessed with incredible pace and trickery, John Barnes played a massive role for a Watford team that finished second in the league, and FA Cup runners-up before transferring to Liverpool in 1987.

Barnes was known for terrorising opposition defenders throughout his time at Anfield, helping his team to two league titles and two FA Cups, with his performances in 1988-89 seeing him named as both PFA Players’ Player of the Year and Football Writers’ Footballer of the Year.

Ian Wright (OVR 85 – 89 – 87)

Ian Wright was a relative latecomer to professional football, but that didn’t stop him from racking up the goals for both Crystal Palace and Arsenal, where he picked up the Golden Boot with 29 goals in his debut season for the North Londoners.

Born and raised in an estate in south London, Wright quickly became a fan favourite, and has served as a barometer for the voice of the fans ever since.

His consistent goal-scoring talents helped lead the Gunners to a league and cup double in 1998, confirming his status as a club icon.

READ MORE: FIFA 20: Eden Hazard can break Messi & Ronaldo’s ratings stronghold

Ian Rush (OVR 87 – 91 – 89)

After a relatively poor debut season at Anfield, Ian Rush’s second season for the Reds saw him hit the 30 goal mark, at which point the goals just kept flowing for the Welshman.

His clinical finishing earned him the Division One and European Golden Boot award in 1983/84, as part of a Liverpool squad that won five league titles, three FA Cups, and a Champions League during his time at Anfield. This is as close to dominance as one can get.

Hugo Sanchez (OVR 89 – 92 – 87)

Starting adult life studying for a degree in dentistry, Hugo Sanchez won his first league title in 1977 just days before his 19th birthday. After five seasons in Mexico, Sanchez spent four years in Spain at Atletico Madrid before making the move across the city to rivals Real.

With Los Blancos, the Mexican striker scored over 200 goals, along with winning five consecutive La Liga titles, three domestic cups, and a UEFA Cup. Sanchez returned to Mexico for a spell at Club America to end his career in his home country.

READ MORE: FIFA 20 Cover star: Players revealed with Eden Hazard & Virgil van Dijk

Garrincha (OVR 94 – 90 – 92)

After developing a reputation for his flair and incredible dribbling activity, Garrincha resisted many attempts from major European clubs to sign him, remaining with Botafogo for 13 seasons and playing a main role for the Brazilian national team, which won back-to-back FIFA World Cups in 1958 and 1962.

Brazil never lost a match with Garrincha and Pele in the lineup.

Didier Drogba (OVR 87 – 91 – 89)

Didier Drogba made his breakthrough in 2003/04 with Marseille, where he added goal-scoring ability to his phenomenal physique to net 32 times in 55 matches and win the Ligue 1 Player of the Year award.

The Ivorian moved to London in 2004, where his goals helped usher Chelsea to four Premier League titles, four FA Cups, and three League Cups.

He became a true Chelsea legend when he scored the deciding penalty in the UEFA Champions League final, earning the club their first major European trophy.

READ MORE: Who is the highest rated player on FIFA 20?

Carlos Alberto (OVR 90 – 93 – 87)

Carlos Alberto came to prominence at Fluminense where he showcased his skills as a technically gifted defender, known for his ball skills as well as his defensive capabilities. After three years at Fluminense he joined Santos, during which time he captained Brazil to FIFA World Cup glory in 1970 and scored one of the greatest goals in the history of the tournament in the Final.

After 14 years of playing in Brazil, Carlos Alberto linked up with Pele in New York, helping the Cosmos to four league championships in his four years at the club.

Andrea Pirlo (OVR 90 – 92 – 88)

Andrea Pirlo is a sophisticated, deep-sitting playmaker known for his incredible vision and passing.

Pirlo led the AC Milan midfield that won the UEFA Champions League in 2003 and 2007. His domestic performances also transferred to the international stage, where he helped Italy to win the 2006 FIFA World Cup, picking up the MOTM award in the final.

Pirlo ended his career in Serie A with four consecutive triumphs, before finishing his career playing in the MLS.

READ MORE: Absolutely everything you need to know about FIFA 20


Julian Sims