07 May 2021 9:49 AM +00:00

The Formula 1 weekend in Barcelona is underway

The next race weekend of the F1 2021 season kicks off today!

Read on to find out all the latest news in the build-up to the 2021 Spanish Grand Prix.

Jump To

Latest - Current Constructor Standings

It's the Silver Arrows who lead the pack for yet another year - but this time, the Red Bull team is hot on their heals!

f1 2021 constructor standings
click to enlarge
+ 5
MAGICAL MERCEDES: The Silver Arrows are out in front once again

Credit: F1

With just 18 points separating the two teams after three races, the standings could be changed dramatically in a single race.

The Alfa Romeo, Williams and Haas teams are yet to score points so far this season.

Current F1 Driver Standings

It's looking like it will be a close-fought battle between the Mercedes and Red Bull drivers this season.

Advertisement
f1 driver standings current 2021
click to enlarge
+ 5
EXCEPTIONAL ENGLISHMAN: Hamilton leads the way once again in the driver standings

Lewis Hamilton is out in front after three races, having won two out of the three Grand Prix weekends, whilst Max Verstappen sits just 8 points behind him.

Kimi Raikkonen, Antonio Giovinazzi, Sebastian Vettel, George Russell, Mick Schumacher, Nikita Mazepin and Nicholas Latifi are all yet to score points so far this season.

Advertisement

Spanish GP Weekend Timetable

F1 2021 mercedes red bull
click to enlarge
+ 5
RESPECT: Mercedes and Red Bull are no doubt the front runners for the 2021 F1 Championship

Credit: F1

Practice 1 - Friday, 7 May - 5:30-6:30am / 10:30-11:30am BST / 11:30am-12:30pm CET

Practice 2 - Friday, 7 May - 9-10am ET / 2-3pm BST / 3-4pm CET

Advertisement

Practice 3 - Saturday, 8 May - 6-7am ET / 11am-12pm BST / 12-1pm CET

Qualifying - Saturday, 8 May - 9-10am ET / 2-3pm BST / 3-4pm CET

Race - Sunday, 9 May - 9-11am ET / 2-4pm BST / 3-5pm CET

How to watch the Spanish Grand Prix

You can watch the Spanish Grand Prix and every other race, qualifying and practise sessions this season, on Sky Sports F1, which costs £18 per month on Sky TV, or £43 per month if you are new to Sky.

f1 daniel ricciardo mclaren
click to enlarge
+ 5
NEW BEGINNINGS: Ricciardo swears to ‘leave nothing on the table’ as McLaren debut approaches

Credit: Formula 1

You can also watch the Spanish Grand Prix using Now TV, which offers Sky Sports Day Passes for £9.98, or monthly passes for £33.99.

Sky Sports Spanish GP Schedule

  • Practice 1 - From 10am on Friday, 7 May (Sky Sports F1 HD)
  • Practice 2 - From 1:45pm on Friday, 7 May (Sky Sports F1 HD)
  • Practice 3 - From 10:45am on Saturday, 8 May (Sky Sports F1 HD)
  • Qualifying - From 1pm on Saturday, 8 May (Sky Sports F1 HD)
  • Grand Prix Sunday - From 12:30pm (Race from 2pm) on Sunday, 9 May (Sky Sports F1 HD)
Advertisement

All times UK.

There will also be extended highlights of the Spanish GP on Channel 4.

Channel 4 Spanish GP Schedule

  • Qualifying Highlights - From 6:30pm on Saturday, 8 May
  • Grand Prix Highlights - From 6:30pm on Sunday, 9 May

All times UK.

In the USA, it's ESPN that will be providing comprehensive coverage of the 2021 Spanish Grand Prix and provide races on every other circuit in the months to come.

ESPN Spanish Schedule

  • Practice 1 - Friday, 7 May - From 5:25am (ESPN 2)
  • Practice 2 - Friday, 7 May - From 8:50am (ESPN U)
  • Practice 3 - Saturday, 8 May - From 5:55am (ESPN 2)
  • Qualifying - Saturday, 8 May - From 8:55am (ESPN 2)
  • Grand Prix Sunday - Sunday, 9 May - From 7:30am (race at 9am) (ESPN)
Advertisement

All times Eastern.

US fans can also watch live F1 on YouTube TV, Sling TV and FuboTV.

Spanish GP Circuit Guide

Here's what you can expect from the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya.

Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya spain grand prix
click to enlarge
+ 5
CIRCUIT DE BARCELONA-CATALUNYA: The track is a good mix of high- and low-speed corners, with a particularly challenging Turn 3 right-hander

Credit: F1

Advertisement

First Grand Prix: 1991

Number of laps: 66

Circuit Length: 4.675 km

Race Distance: 308.424 km

Check out all the latest on the next race of the F1 2021 season here!