27 Jun 2021 2:44 PM +00:00

Everything you need to know ahead of the Austrian Grand Prix

The F1 2021 season continues next weekend with the Austrian GP!

Read on to find out all the latest news on the next weekend in the Formula 1 calendar - the Austrian Grand Prix.

Jump To

LATEST - Verstappen Wins Styrian GP, Austria Up Next

Max Verstappen dominated the field to take home the points in Red Bull's home GP. If this result means anything for next week's Austrian GP on the same track, his lead at the top will only grow larger.

You have to feel for George Russell though who after missing out on Q3 by 0.008, was driving a blinder in 8th before mechanical issues forced him to withdraw. The sooner he gets his Mercedes offer, the better.

Turkish Grand Prix to rejoin 2021 Formula 1 calendar

Following the news that the Marina Bay race cannot go ahead as planned on October 3rd, F1 will instead be racing around Intercity Istanbul Park – the circuit where Lewis Hamilton clinched his seventh World Championship title last year.

Advertisement
f1 turkish grand prix
click to enlarge
+ 4
TURKEY RETURNS: Turkish GP set to rejoin the calendar

Credit: F1

Earlier this season the Turkish Grand Prix was removed from the calendar due to international travel restrictions but at the time the promoter had requested the potential to re-join the calendar later in the season if possible.

Austrian GP Circuit Guide

The drivers will head to the Red Bull Ring for the Austrian Grand Prix.

Advertisement
french grand prix f1 2021 circuit Circuit Paul Ricard
click to enlarge
+ 4
CIRCUIT PAUL RICARD: Formula 1 hit the Circuit Paul Ricard in 1971, with Jackie Stewart winning the inaugural race in his Tyrrell 003

Credit: F1

The Red Bull Ring will host the next two races and is another exciting track for competitive racing.

Number of Laps: 71

Circuit Length: 4.318km

Advertisement

Race Distance: 306.452 km

Lap Record: 1:05.619 - Carlos Sainz (2020)

Austrian Grand Prix Weekend Timetable

F1 2021 mercedes red bull
click to enlarge
+ 4
RESPECT: Mercedes and Red Bull are no doubt the front runners for the 2021 F1 Championship

Credit: F1

Advertisement

Practice 1 - Friday, 2 July - 5:30-6:30am / 10:30-11:30am BST / 11:30-12:30pm CET

Practice 2 - Friday, 2 July - 9-10am ET / 2-3m BST / 3-4pm CET

Practice 3 - Saturday, 3 July - 6-7am ET / 11am-12pm BST / 12pm-1pm CET

Qualifying - Saturday, 3 July - 9-10am ET / 2-3pm BST / 3-4pm CET

Race - Sunday, 4 July - 9-11am ET / 2-4pm BST / 3-5pm CET

How to watch the Austrian Grand Prix

You can watch the Austrian Grand Prix and every other race, qualifying and practise sessions this season, on Sky Sports F1, which costs £18 per month on Sky TV, or £43 per month if you are new to Sky.

f1 daniel ricciardo mclaren
click to enlarge
+ 4
NEW BEGINNINGS: Ricciardo swears to ‘leave nothing on the table’ as McLaren debut season arrives

Credit: Formula 1

You can also watch the Austrian Grand Prix using Now TV, which offers Sky Sports Day Passes for £9.98, or monthly passes for £33.99.

Sky Sports Austrian GP Schedule

  • Practice 1 - From 10am on Friday, 2 July (Sky Sports F1 HD)
  • Practice 2 - From 1:45pm on Friday, 2 July (Sky Sports F1 HD)
  • Practice 3 - From 10:45am on Saturday, 3 July (Sky Sports F1 HD)
  • Qualifying - From 1pm on Saturday, 3 July (Sky Sports F1 HD)
  • Grand Prix Sunday - From 12:30pm (Race from 2pm) on Sunday, 4 July (Sky Sports F1 HD)
Advertisement

All times UK.

There will also be extended highlights of the Austrian GP on Channel 4.

Channel 4 Austrian GP Schedule

  • Qualifying Highlights - Saturday, 3 July (time tbc)
  • Grand Prix Highlights - Sunday, 4 July (time tbc)

All times UK.

In the USA, it's ESPN that will be providing comprehensive coverage of the 2021 Austrian Grand Prix and provide races on every other circuit in the months to come.

ESPN Austrian Schedule

  • Practice 1 - Friday, 2 July - From 5:25am (ESPN 2)
  • Practice 2 - Friday, 2 July - From 8:55am (ESPN U)
  • Practice 3 - Saturday, 3 July - From 5:55am (ESPN 2)
  • Qualifying - Saturday, 3 July - From 8:55am (ESPN 2)
  • Grand Prix Sunday - Sunday, 4 July - From 7:30am (race at 9am) (ESPN)
Advertisement

All times Eastern.

US fans can also watch live F1 on YouTube TV, Sling TV and FuboTV.

*RealSport101 may receive a small commission if you click a link from one of our articles onto a retail website and make a purchase. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. For more information, see our Cookie Policy. All prices listed were accurate at the time of publishing.