DOTA 2 Lima Major 2023 - All Qualified Teams

After a thrilling Dota Pro Circuit first round, we have the list of teams that will be part of the first Major of 2023 in Lima, Peru.

The Lima Major is the first big tournament in Latin America, and it is a way to recognize the region with the most significant growth in the DOTA Pro-Scene in recent years.

For these 18 teams, there are two weeks to rest before the competition starts. After that, the rest will have to fight in the next DPC for a place in the Berlin Major.

DOTA 2 Lima Major Schedule

The DOTA 2 Lima Major will take place in Lima, Peru, from February 22, 2023, to March 2023. It is the first time a DOTA Major is celebrated in South America.

DOTA Lima Major AD
expand image
The DOTA Lima Major promises to show the folklore of South American Region

Lima Major will be divided into two phases.

  • Group Stage will run from February 22 to February 26. In this phase, the 18 teams will be separated into two groups of 8 teams who will play Bo2 Matches.
    • The best four teams will be in the upper bracket in the playoffs.
    • Pos 4 - Pos6 will join the lower bracket in the playoffs.
    • The last three positions in each group will be eliminated.
  • Playoffs will be played from February 28 to March 3 in Arena 1 San Miguel in Lima, a fantastic venue near the sea.
    • Matches in the Playoffs will be Bo3 except for the Big Finals, which will be played for Bo5.

Unfortunately, Peru declared a State of Emergency due to the weeks of protest against the government, but 4D, the organizers announced the Major wouldn't be canceled.

Lima Major Prize Pool

All 18 qualified teams will compete for a US$500,000 prize pool, but even more important, there are 1,900 DPC points for those teams interested in being part of the International 2023.

Arena 1 Stage Image the location for the DOTA 2 Lima Major
expand image
Arena 1 the stage for the DOTA Lima Major is just meters from the Ocean

How to Watch the Lima Major?

The Lima Major will be broadcasted live on the EpulzeGaming Twitch channel. Additionally, the tournament will simulcast the Epulze YouTube channel.

Another option is to enter DOTA 2 and spectate the games in the Watch Section. Players can also participate in picking their Fantasy Team and getting treasures and shards.

DOTA 2 Lima Major: All Qualified Teams

Have an opinion on this article? We'd love to hear it!

DOTA teams worked very hard during DPC first round to secure a spot in the Lima Major. Unfortunately, great names will be missing the competition.

These are all the DOTA Lima Major teams that earn their spot in the DOTA Pro Circuit.

Team Name
Team Liquid
Western Europe
Western Europe
Gaimin Gladiators
Western Europe
Western Europe
Betboom Team
Eastern Europe
Team Spirit
Eastern Europe
Eastern Europe
Team Aster
South East Asia
Geek Slate
South East Asia
Talon Esports
South East Asia
South America
Evil Geniuses
South America
Shopify Rebellion
North America
North America

Biggest Teams to Miss the Cut

The most competitive region was West Europe, with OG, Tundra & Entity playing up to three rounds of tie-breakers, something to remember for many years.

Unfortunately, OG, the biggest winner of Majors, will miss the competition, along with Nigma Galaxy and Team Secret, which was relegated to DIV 2.

Fishman from DOTA Esports
expand image
Fishman and Entity join the DOTA Lima Major after 3 rounds of Tie-Breakers

In Eastern Europe, NAVI, a TI winner, is being relegated to the second division, and Virtus Pro didn't make the cut either.

Something similar happened in South East Asia. As a result, Boom Esports and Fnatic finished at the bottom of the DPC and will be in the second division of DOTA Pro Circuit next round.

No surprises in the American Continent. Beastcoast and Evil Geniuses dominate their region, and they are preparing to play the next DOTA Lima Major as locals, as most of their players are from Peru.

This Article's Topics

Explore new topics and discover content that's right for you!

Have an opinion on this article? We'd love to hear it!