The home of sports games

The home of sports games

IndyCar Explained: Who is the most successful driver in IndyCar?

NTT IndyCar Series logo with blue background

Interest in IndyCar is growing with the 2022 NTT IndyCar Series season producing one of the most intense Championship battles in recent memory.

In this series of explainer articles, RealSport101's Harry Smith will take you through the basics of IndyCar, whether you're new to the sport, or just looking for a refresher.

Who is the most successful driver in IndyCar currently?

On the current IndyCar grid, experienced New Zealander Scott Dixon is largely considered the greatest driver having won a record six IndyCar Series Championships.

Will Power is also a name often mentioned with the Aussie having recorded 41 race wins and two Championships, including the most recent IndyCar Series Championship. He also has the most pole positions of any IndyCar driver in history.

Helio Castroneves is a four-time Indy 500 winner but is in the twilight years of his career, while Josef Newgarden is already a two-time champion and will doubtless go on to add to that tally in seasons to come.

Scott McLaughlin is another incredibly decorated driver, although his success to date has largely arrived in the Supercars Championship.

Here is the 2022 IndyCar grid in order of race wins:

  • Scott Dixon - 53
  • Will Power - 41
  • Helio Castroneves - 31
  • Josef Newgarden - 24
  • Tony Kanaan - 17
  • Simon Pagenaud - 15
  • Alexander Rossi - 8
  • Colton Herta - 7
  • Takuma Sato - 6
  • Graham Rahal - 6
  • Alex Palou - 4
  • Pato O'Ward - 4
  • Scott McLaughlin - 3
  • Marcus Ericsson - 3
  • Rinus Veekay - 1
  • Felix Rosenqvist - 1

For more articles like this, take a look at our Sports and Motorsport page.