All NFL MVP Winners

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook

The 2022 NFL season is in full swing, with Josh Allen, Patrick Mahomes and Lamar Jackson among those to stake an early claim for the 2022 NFL MVP award.

The award is the most prestigious individual award that an NFL player can win, with a panel of 50 sportswriters voting for who they deem to be the best player in the competition.

A host of famous faces have got their hands on the trophy over the past 65 years, here is the full list of all of the winners.

All NFL MVP Winners

It's worth noting that a number of different organisations hand out their own NFL MVP awards each year, but for the purpose of this article, we are highlighting those who have won the Associated Press (AP) NFL MVP Award.

Year Position Player Franchise
1957FBJim BrownCleveland Browns
1958FBJim BrownCleveland Browns
1959QBJohnny UnitasBaltimore Colts
1961HBPaul HornungGreen Bay Packers
1962FBJim TaylorGreen Bay Packers
1963QBY.A. TittleNew York Giants
1964QBJohnny UnitasBaltimore Colts
1965QBJim BrownCleveland Browns
1966QBBart StarrGreen Bay Packers
1967QBJohnny UnitasBaltimore Colts
1968QBEarl MorrallBaltimore Colts
1969QBRoman GabrielLos Angeles Rams
1970QB John BrodieSan Francisco 49ers
1971RDTAlan PageMinnesota Vikings
1972RBLarry BrownWashington Redskins
1973RBO.J. SimpsonBuffalo Bills
1974QBKen StablerOakland Raiders
1975QBFran TarkentonMinnesota Vikings
1976QBBert JonesBaltimore Colts
1977RBWalter PaytonChicago Bears
1978QBTerry BradshawPittsburgh Steelers
1979RBEarl CampbellHouston Oilers
1980QBBrian SipeCleveland Browns
1981QBKen AndersonCincinnati Bengals
1982KMark MoseleyWashington Redskins
1983QBJoe TheismannWashington Redskins
1984QBDan MarinoMiami Dolphins
1985RBMarcus AllenLos Angeles Raiders
1986ROLBLawrence TaylorNew York Giants
1987QBJohn ElwayDenver Broncos
1988QBBoomer EsiasonCincinnati Bengals
1989QBJoe MontanaSan Francisco 49ers
1990QBJoe MontanaSan Francisco 49ers
1991RBThurman ThomasBuffalo Bills
1992QBSteve YoungSan Francisco 49ers
1993RBEmmitt SmithDallas Cowboys
1994QBSteve YoungSan Francisco 49ers
1995QBBrett FavreGreen Bay Packers
1996QBBrett FavreGreen Bay Packers
1997QBBrett FavreGreen Bay Packers
1997RBBarry SandersDetroit Lions
1998RBTerrell DavisDenver Broncos
1999QBKurt WarnerSt. Louis Rams
2000RBMarshall FaulkSt. Louis Rams
2001QBKurt WarnerSt. Louis Rams
2002QBRich GannonOakland Raiders
2003QBSteve McNairTennessee Titans
2004QB Peyton ManningIndianapolis Colts
2005RBShaun AlexanderSeattle Seahawks
2006RBLaDainian TomlinsonSan Diego Chargers
2007QBTom BradyNew England Patriots
2008QBPeyton ManningIndianapolis Colts
2009QBPeyton ManningIndianapolis Colts
2010QBTom BradyNew England Patriots
2011QBAaron RodgersGreen Bay Packers
2012QBAdrian PetersonMinnesota Vikings
2013QBPeyton ManningDenver Broncos
2014QBAaron RodgersGreen Bay Packers
2015QBCam NewtonCarolina Panthers
2016QBMatt RyanAtlanta Falcons
2017QBTom BradyNew England Patriots
2018QBPatrick MahomesKansas City Chiefs
2019QBLamar JacksonBaltimore Ravens
2020QBAaron RodgersGreen Bay Packers
2021QBAaron RodgersGreen Bay Packers

Who has won the most NFL MVP Awards?

Former Indianapolis Colts and Denver Broncos QB Peyton Manning has won the most NFL MVP awards of any player in the NFL, picking up the award on five separate occasions ('03, '04, '08, '09, '13).


Aaron Rodgers sits second in the list with four awards to his name ('11, '14, '20, '21), whilst Tom Brady is one of four players to have picked up the MVP award three times ('07, '10, '17).

Jim Brown ('57, '58), Joe Montana ('89, '90), Brett Favre ('95, '96, '97) and Peyton Manning ('03, '04 & '08, '09) join Aaron Rodgers ('20, '21) as the only players to have won the award in consecutive seasons.

For more articles like this, take a look at our Sports page.