State of Play Announced for Next Week

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook

The anticipation is finally over as Sony announces yet another State of Play showcase to give a platform to the various PlayStation games coming to PS4, PS5 and beyond.

Of course, many fans are excited to see the newest batch of titles coming to their favourite console. Speculation for what the show could have in-store for gamers is running rampant so let's discuss what may show up at the latest State of Play and, more importantly, what won't be appearing.

New State of Play Showcase Happening Next Week

For PlayStation fans excited to see their favourite games you won't have to wait long as Playstation announced via its Twitter that State of Play returns on Thursday, June 2nd, 2022 at 3 pm Pacific / 6 pm Eastern / 11 pm BST / 12:00 am CET streamed live on YouTube or via the PlayStation Twitch channel

Advertisement

Fuel Up! Get 10% OFF Rogue Energy Drinks With Code 'GFIN'

It's not all good news, however, as fans waiting for a major first-party release from PlayStation are going to have to wait a little longer with the official PlayStation announcement post regarding the new State of play stating that the showcase will "have some exciting reveals from our third-party partners, plus a sneak peek at several games in development for PlayStation VR2."

prm-trial-rs
Don't Miss Out! Prime Day is coming soon! Get your FREE 30-day Prime Trial and shop exclusive deals!

This means that the highly anticipated God of War Ragnarök will not be appearing on this State of Play, despite all indications still pointing to a 2022 release date for the title.

This doesn't completely rule out games like Final Fantasy XVI or even Final Fantasy VII Remake being shown at the event, though the use of the word "reveal" does make it sound like new projects we've yet to see will be making their debut instead.