PS Plus January 2022 Release Countdown: PlayStation confirm free games

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook

Table of Contents

For the most part, PlayStation's PS Plus games are pretty good - but how is 2022 going to kick off another year of free games from this incredible service? Well... PlayStation has just confirmed January 2022's PS Plus games and we're not sure what to think. We knew they were coming and yet... We're still nonplussed about the whole thing. Here's what to expect...

UPDATE - The leaks were right (again)

It's not really a surprise, but the following titles have been confirmed by PlayStation as January 2022's PS Plus games:

Advertisement
  • Deep Rock Galactic (PS4 & PS5)
  • Persona 5 Strikers (PS4)
  • Dirt 5 (PS4 & PS5)

You can check out the announcement below:

These will be available from January 4th - are you happy with this selection?

Announcement and Release - The "When"

PlayStation has managed to get itself into a routine when it comes to PS Plus announcements and that means it's quite easy to predict when we're going to see an official announcement from PlayStation's social media channels and the PlayStation Blog.

We should see an announcement regarding January 2022's PS Plus games at the following times:

Advertisement
  • 08:30 PST - December 29th
  • 11:30 EST - December 29th
  • 16:30 GMT - December 29th

Following this announcement, which is always made around a week before the release of the PS Plus games on the last Wednesday of the month, we should be able to download the PS Plus games that are revealed from the following times:

  • 03:00 PST - January 6th
  • 06:00 EST - January 6th
  • 11:00 GMT - January 6th

There is a chance you'll be able to get your hands on these a bit earlier in the day, at 00:01 Local Time, but the PlayStation Store refreshes at the time specified above and this is when the PS Plus section of the PlayStation Store will be updated to reflect the new titles.

Latest leaks reveal the next line-up - The "What"

We might not have confirmation from an official source of what games we're getting from PS Plus next month, but we have a pretty good idea of what games we're getting from PS Plus next month.

Dealabs is back at it again and has leaked the January 2022 PS Plus line-up - you should take the following with a pinch of salt, though. Dealabs doesn't get it wrong often but there's always a first time...

Advertisement

We should see the following games released as January 2022's PS Plus games:

  • Deep Rock Galactic (PS4 & PS5)
  • Persona 5 Strikers (PS4)
  • Dirt 5 (PS4 & PS5)

Would you be happy with these if you got them? We're not so sure...