23 Sep 2021 4:20 PM +00:00

Will Breath of the Wild 2 be shown at the September Nintendo Direct?

Nintendo are holding a brand new Nintendo Direct event that was only announced a couple of days ago. We haven't officially heard from them since E3 2021.

One of the biggest games we know they're working on is the next Breath of the Wild title. Maybe we could finally see a firm release date. Here's what we know about it.

When Is the September Nintendo Direct?

Luckily, the Nintendo Direct is just around the corner, taking place at 23:00 BST / 18:00 EST / 15:00 PST, today, 23 September.

Advertisement

The presentation will last 40 minutes in total and will talk exclusively about "Nintendo Switch software", primarily that which is still to launch in 2021. This includes Metroid Dread and the Pokemon Diamond and Pearl Remakes.

Will They Talk About Breath of the Wild 2?

Advertisement

Although we skipped E3 last year, the one Nintendo was at in 2019 featured our very first look at Breath of the Wild 2. They have a habit of dropping big news during these events so it wouldn't be a surprise to see an update on the game.

This being said, they said the event would focus on games mostly releasing in 2021. Breath of the Wild 2 is certainly big enough to justify talking about, even with a release date that is far away. Either that or we will see a release date this year - very unlikely, even for Nintendo.

We know that the game has been in development for at least two years now, likely one or two more than that given they revealed it then. Breath of the Wild 2 likely took precedent after the DLC was finished for the first game. Hopefully, we could get a really good announcement later tonight.