Nintendo Switch Sports Pre-order: Reserve your copy of the Wii Sports sequel NOW

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook

Wii Sports changed the game when it came to sports gaming.

The first two feature motion sensor gameplay - it brought so much fun when playing tennis, golf, bowling, boxing and more - and we are so thrilled to see the franchise is returning for its fourth iteration in Nintendo Switch Sports.

Advertisement

The sequels Wii Sports Resort and Wii Sports Club didn't quite have the success of the original - but let's hope the first release on Nintendo Switch brings the franchise back to the good old days.

Table of Contents

Nintendo Switch Sports Trailer

The trailer for Nintendo Switch Sports was revealed during Nintendo Direct on 9 February 2022:

Nintendo Switch Sports Release Date

You don't have too long to wait, with Nintendo Switch Sports arriving on 29 April 2022.

Online Play Test

You will be able to get a taste of the game beforehand, however, with the online play test weekend taking place on 18-20 February.

Advertisement

chambara-nintendo-switch-sports
EN GARDE - Chambara is the Japanese for sword fighting

Here are the various times:

  • Friday, 18 February: 10am-10:45am ET / 3pm-3:45pm GMT
  • Saturday, 19 February - 6am-6:45am ET / 11am-11:45am GMT; 2pm-2:45pm ET / 7pm-7:45pm GMT; 10pm-10:45am ET
  • Sunday, 20 February - 3am-3:45am GMT; 6am-6:45am ET / 11am-11:45am GMT

Nintendo Switch Sports Games

There are various different "sports" you can play in Nintendo Switch sports.

These are:

Advertisement
  • Tennis
  • Bowling
  • Fencing (Chambara)
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
  • Badminton
  • Golf (arriving after release in a free update)

nintendo-switch-sports games-map
LET BATTLE COMMENCE - All six sports can be played in online multiplayer

Tennis, bowling and golf remain from the original Wii Sports game, with the other four brand new for Switch Sports.

Nintendo Switch Sports Price & Pre-order

Nintendo Switch Sports costs £39.99 / $39.99.

Advertisement

You can buy the game from Amazon here - which includes a leg strap for the JoyCon controller.

It may be worth waiting until after the online playtest to decide whether the game is worth moving for.