25 Sep 2020 5:22 PM +00:00

Sydney Roosters: Their Best 17 Ever

The Roosters are one of the league’s proudest clubs; starting as a foundation team in 1908 with the main attraction, Rugby Union convert Dally Messenger, leading the club. The Roosters have won 13 Premierships in that time.  Apart from dominating the early years of the competition, they also enjoyed periods of dominance in the mid-1930s and mid-1970s and a remarkable 3 consecutive minor premierships from 2013 to 2015.  Many brilliant players have played their part in those eras of dominance; many of them feature below, many more narrowly missed out.  

Picking players across eras is never an exact science.  An author can do all the research in the world and still never be 100% sure about the selections put forward.  Sure, there are some certainties for every team of this nature, but let this not end the debate; let it start one.

The main criteria is that each player has been selected on the strength of their performances for the club in question (not representative football and not for other clubs).  They may have only been at the club for a short time, but if they’ve made The Best 17 Ever, it’s because of the undeniable quality they produced during that time.

So let the debate begin!

*RealSport101 may receive a small commission if you click a link from one of our articles onto a retail website and make a purchase. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. For more information, see our Cookie Policy. All prices listed were accurate at the time of publishing.