Floyd Mayweather and Conor McGregor will fight with smaller gloves in their eagerly anticipated fight on August 26. Despite the gloves being smaller than would be deemed usual for fighting at this weight, they are not nearly as small as the ones McGregor is used to wearing, however the Irishman has since expressed his delight at the decision.
In a statement prepared for TheMacLife website, Conor wrote:
“I am very pleased with the Nevada State Athletic Commission’s handling of my next bout today. Fair play was kept all the way through. This was handled very well and very fairly by the NSAC. I am very pleased and respect the commission’s ruling on this. Ten days until fight time.”
Commissioners also approved veteran referee Robert Byrd as the man to take charge of the fight inside the squared circle. The NSAC has assigned Byrd to officiate their 154-pound boxing match at the T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas as well as announcing it has chosen Reno, Nevada’s Burt Clements, Las Vegas’ Dave Moretti and Italy’s Guido Cavalleri as the judges for the self titled ‘Money Fight’.
With Byrd only officiating one of Floyd’s fights in the past, (his 2013 win over Robert Guerrero), it seems clear that the Nevada State Athletic Commission have gone out of their way to ensure both parties are happy with every decision made in the lead up to this fight.
With McGregor expected to use his size and strength to his advantage when in range of Mayweather, the officiating of the holds and grappling will be under the microscope in Las Vegas, as the Irishman attempts to make the fight as uncomfortable as possible for the 49-0 star.
Mayweather has fought the majority of his boxing career wearing 8oz gloves and is completely comfortable in doing so. However, with McGregor being able to avoid the extra two ounces he would have had in wearing 10oz gloves, the UFC star will feel slightly more comfortable in converting his power-punches come fight night. Power is the only way that ‘Mystic Mac’ can win this fight, and with a small victory in determining the size of his gloves, the Irishman can arguably see more than a glimmer of light at the end of the tunnel.
Does this ruling change anything? Comment below…
Want to share your opinion? Why not Write For Us?