Home > News > Sports > Cricket > Quiney calls it quits as Victoria name Wade’s successor

Quiney calls it quits as Victoria name Wade’s successor

Victoria name their playing list for 2017/18.

Quiney calls it a day

Cricket Victoria has announced their final squad for season 2017/18 after the sad announcement that former Australian Test & One Day International representative Rob Quiney has retired from first-class cricket. 


Quiney (35) began his Victorian career in 2005 in a warm-up match against the ICC World XI at Junction Oval against the best the world offered which included the likes of Shoaib Akhtar, Shaun Pollock, Makhaya Ntini, Muttiah Muralitharan & Daniel Vettori. 

Quiney represented Victoria 252 times across all formats of the game. He amassed 5674 runs in 96 first-class matches at an average of 36.84 which included 11 centuries and 25 half centuries with a high score of 153. Quiney also earned a call-up to the Test Team in 2012 against South Africa where he played two tests to become Australia’s 429th capped player. 

Quiney still plies his trade for BBL side Melbourne Stars in which he was an inaugural member of the squad.

Handscomb named as Wade’s successor

It has been a big 12 months in the life of Peter Handscomb after being named to make his debut for Australia in the Test Arena, solidifying his position in the middle order for the Australian side and now being given the honour of being named captain of the three-time defending JLT Sheffield Shield and JLT One Day Cup Champions. 

Handscomb (25), replaces Matthew Wade who has returned to his home state of Tasmania, has accepted the honour and vows to push Victoria to retain the JLT One Day Cup and claim a Fourth Consecutive JLT Sheffield Shield. 

“It’s an absolute honour and privilege to be named the captain of Victoria, and something I take a lot of pride in,” said Handscomb.


“To be able to lead such a strong and successful team that has won three Sheffield Shield titles in a row is an amazing opportunity.

“Following in the footsteps of some Victorian greats like Bill Lawry and more recently Cameron White and Matthew Wade who has led Victoria to so much success is exciting.”

Five members from last season’s squad won’t be returning to Victoria for the 2017/18 season, including Quiney (retired) and Marcus Stoinis (move back to Western Australia). Stoinis made an impact whilst at Victoria which lead to his selection in Australia’s ODI squad and nearly played Australia to victory against New Zealand with a superb 146* back in January.  Michael Beer, Evan Gulbis and Ian Holland weren’t offered contracts.

Among the Rookie Contract list are familiar names to the game. Will Sutherland, son of Cricket Australia CEO James Sutherland, and Tom O’Donnell, son of former Australian Representative and Victorian Cricket Legend Simon O’Donnell, will be ones hoping to lead the Bushrangers into the future. Will Sutherland had the choice between a career in Australian Rules Football or Cricket but has decided on the latter. Sutherland has represented Australia at the under 19s Level while O’Donnell joins the Bushrangers after representing the Cricket Australia XI in the JLT One Day Tournament from Last Season.

Victoria Contract List 2017/18: Peter Handscomb (c), Fawad Ahmed, Scott Boland, Daniel Christian, Jackson Coleman, Xavier Crone, Travis Dean, Aaron Finch, Sebastian Gotch, Sam Harper, Marcus Harris, John Hastings, Jon Holland, Glenn Maxwell, James Muirhead, James Pattinson, Will Pucovski, Jake Reed, Matthew Short, Peter Siddle, Blake Thomson, Chris Tremain, Guy Walker, Cameron White.

Rookie List: Zak Evans, Sam Grimwade, Jackson Koop, Tom O’Donnell, Mitch Perry, Will Sutherland

How do you think the Bushrangers will fare in the Australian Domestic scene this season? Let us know in the comments below.

Want to share your opinion? Why not Write For Us?

Quiney calls it quits as Victoria name Wade’s successor

Send this to a friend