14 May 2021 9:15 AM +00:00

Mass Effect Legendary Edition is now out on all platforms, Shephard

It's time to take the fight to the Reapers! Mass Effect Legendary Edition is out now and we can't wait to get stuck in.

Jump To

LATEST - Community Tribute Video

BioWare's team has shared a video celebrating the Mass Effect community and the launch of the Legendary Edition. It raises an important point, alongside the fact that the Mass Effect Trilogy is "epic" of course. Mass Effect is more than just a video game to a lot of players.

For some, Mass Effect is a way to escape their daily lives. It's a chance to explore themselves retrospectively. It's a chance at representation. Mass Effect is important in more ways than one.

Mass Effect has helped people do this and now the Legendary Edition is bringing all of this and more to the next generation of consoles.

Welcome back, Commander Shephard.

Advertisement

When Does Mass Effect Unlock?

If you have the PlayStation 4 or Xbox One version of Mass Effect Legendary Edition, you'll be able to play it from 00:00 BST.

We're not fully sure as to whether this means that it will unlock at 00:00 local time, but if it doesn't... You're looking at around 16:00 PST May 13th / 19:00 EST May 13th in other time zones. However, we're assuming that this will actually be local time on these platforms.

It's also worth noting that this applies to the PS4 and Xbox One versions on PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S consoles.

As for PC players... The title is due to unlock on May 14th at 08:00 PST / 11:00 EST / 16:00 BST on Origin.

Mass Effect Legendary Edition Release Time Liara
click to enlarge
BEST ADVICE? - The storefront you bought it on should have it's own countdown timer

Interestingly, it looks like the title is due to release on 18:00 PST /21:00 EST / 02:00 BST (May 15) on Steam. This seems a little odd, but Origin is EA's own digital storefront so it would make sense for them to give it a bit of priority access.

Advertisement

The Definitive Way To Play

Mass Effect Legendary Edition is going to be the best way to play Mass Effect and we cannot wait!

It's going to feature smooth frame rates, graphical enhancements and 4K Ultra Hd resolution as well as a number of key gameplay tweaks and changes.

For the most part, the games will feel the same but the first Mass Effect title has undergone a significant "redo" when it comes to combat and the Mako. BioWare has also thrown all the additional content into the Legendary Edition to truly help it live up to its' name. That means there are about 130 Trophies and Achievements to unlock!

Get ready to get lost, Commander Shephard. Your squad are waiting for you on the Normandy.

*RealSport101 may receive a small commission if you click a link from one of our articles onto a retail website and make a purchase. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. For more information, see our Cookie Policy. All prices listed were accurate at the time of publishing.