30 Jul 2021 7:05 AM +00:00

Marvel's Avengers: Black Panther joins the game on August 17th

Square Enix announced that Marvel's Avengers new expansion "Black Panther, War for Wakanda" will launch on August 17th, as a free update for the owners of the game. Here's what we know so far.

Jump To

T'Challa will be the third new playable hero. The "War for Wakanda expansion" also brings two new villains, new environment to explore, new enemies, the Birnin Zana Outpost, new solo or multiplayer Drop Zone, and Threat Sector missions.

Black Panther, War for Wakanda


The story of the free War for Wakanda expansion revolves around King T'Challa, the Black Panther. Blindsided by a betrayal and the resulting tragedy, T'Challa finds it difficult to entrust his duty to anyone else, even his sister Shuri.

When arch-villain Klaw's forces threaten Wakanda's safety, T'Challa must take the fight right to them to defend everything and everyone he holds dear.

For this new DLC, expect some additional missions in the ongoing Avengers Initiative, that will take an entirely new environment in Wakanda; the sole location of the world’s Vibranium.

Players will also get to explore the Royal Palace that overlooks Birnin Zana, known as “The Golden City,” in a new Outpost that contains Shuri’s laboratory, Zawavari’s chambers, and the Wakandan War Room.

All-Access Weekend

An all-access weekend for Marvel’s Avengers began July 29th and will run through August 1st on PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, PC (via Steam), and Stadia in all regions where the game is available.

During the all-access weekend, special promotions will be available for all players, including:

  • 400% bonus to experience gained
  • 50%-off sale in the in-game Marketplace
  • The return of the Tachyon Anomaly event.
  • All-access players interested in purchase the game they just need to download it from their platform's digital store. They will keep all progress and purchases done during this weekend on the same platform.

Kratos and Narcisse in War for Wakanda

The new Black Panther upgrade will expand the single player campaign to more than 25 hours, plus the up to 4 players multiplayer action.

Behind the new content, we can find two familiar faces. First, Christopher Judge, the voice of Kratos in the most recent God of War. He will take the role of T'challa, after the unfortunate passing of Chadwick Boseman.

Crystal Dynamics also brought Evan Narcisse as a Narrative Consultant. He is the writer of the Rise of the Black Panther comic series, and also recently worked on the Spider-Man: Miles Morales expansion.

This massive expansion and weekend are not one to miss for Marvel's Avengers!