LoL: New Honor System Explained

Riot continues to go down the League player’s wish list by releasing a new Honor Update! We examine how it works.

by Daniil Volkov

2017 is a great year to be a League of Legends fan. A new client, a practice mode, the ability to watch replays—it seems like Riot is hellbent on turning their rep around and releasing every feature we’ve ever asked for.  And well, props to them.

But for now, let’s dive into the latest addition to the game—the revamped honor system!

How does it work?

Forget about the ribbons and abstract teamwork points—now everything is as clear as it possibly can be. At the end of each game, you’ll have a single honor point that you can give to one of your teammates. You can either commend them for Staying Cool, praise their Great Shotcalling, or simply say GG <3. You can check out the breakdown of what each of these means below.

The voting process takes place before the post-game lobby, and you can see what honor—if any—you received afterward. And that’s it… at least, for the interactive part. But what comes next is much, much more interesting.

The honor system is divided into 5 levels and offers a bunch of goodies to the sportsmanlike players.

For starters, everyone begins at level 2 and—provided they don’t get bans or chat penalties—progresses up the honor ladder. As you rank up, you’ll get access to honor capsules, loading screen flairs, and even end of the season rewards. Of course, the process will be much faster if you keep getting honored by your teammates, but even if you aren’t as lucky, you’ll still slowly advance in levels.

It’s worth noting that you can de-rank for toxic behavior all the way to level 0, which would take away your ability to get Key Fragments. Yep, chest keys are now directly tied to the honor system. Don’t worry, though. Levels 2 to 5 pretty much give you the same amount of Key Fragments you’re getting now, so it’s not like regular players will be losing out on anything. Only the most toxic.

What was that about rewards?

Honor capsules are basically Hextech chests that don’t need a key to be opened. Each honor capsule will drop a minimum of two Key Fragments as well as champion shards and—very rarely—Grey Warwick and Medieval Twitch skins.

As for the loading screen flairs, these will be accessible from level 3 to level 5. Whenever you receive an honor point from one non-premade ally or from two premade ones, you’ll unlock your flair and carry it over into the next game. You can check these out here:

So even the level 3 flair looks pretty sweet, although levels 4 and 5 will supposedly have glow effects.

Finally, there’s not much known about the end of the year rewards, but Riot promised to release more information down the line.

So is this out yet?


Riot announced that the update is coming as early as patch 7.13, but that’s not yet set in stone. If you want to know more, you can read up on the new system here. Either way, it’s great to see that they’re working on making League of Legends better and giving us more incentives to do well in-game, both through score and through behavior.

What is your opinion on the League of Legends honor update? Share your thoughts in the comments!  


Daniil Volkov