18 Aug 2021 8:17 AM +00:00

Fortnite's servers are back online following the v17.40 Update

Fortnite's next title update is a big one and is teaching us that we can't trust anyone! The v17.40 Update is going to do a lot more than making changes to our favourite POI, as a brand new game mode is now available.

Jump To

Here's the latest on the Server Downtime and Server Status alongside more information about what's included in the title update.

UPDATE - Patch Notes now available

Fortnite has made the Patch Notes ad changes from Update 17.40 available following this mornings downtime. You can dig deeper into all of the changes made to Battle Royale, Creative and Save the World.

Advertisement

Servers are back online

Downtime is over and the Fortnite servers are back online following Update 17.40. You can now just straight into the Imposter Mode and check out all of the new cosmetic items in the item store.

More content from the update will be available over the coming week.

Advertisement

New Imposter game mode coming

A brand new game mode, tentatively called Imposters, is releasing as part of Fortnite Update 17.40. The mode will take between 4-10 players inside the IO as you try and oust the mole among the group.

Advertisement

This is the game mode that many people believed would be an Among Us crossover, officially putting those rumours to bed for now.

Server Downtime starts as expected

Fortnite's servers went offline at around 01:00 PST / 04:00 EST / 09:00 BST as expected and Server Downtime is continuing as planned. We should see Fortnite's servers go back online within a couple of hours, around 03:00 PST / 06:00 EST / 11:00 BST, but this could stretch another few hours.

Advertisement

It's hard to predict and Epic Games doesn't often let fans know specifically unless the downtime is particularly long. We'll keep you updated as best we can, though.

Fortnite 17.40 Update Release Date

Now that we're currently in the middle of season 7, we're starting to gear up for season 8. These updates work as a middleman, something to provide extra content before the next season is ready for release.

Advertisement

Some well-known Fortnite leakers have suggested that servers are being primed for this update and suspect it to arrive on Tuesday, August 17th. This leaves just a day, at the least, for its arrival. If it doesn't arrive then, it should arrive at some point over the coming days.

Release Time

Advertisement

Now that we have the release date out of the way, it's time to look at the release time. 17.40 seems to follow the normal tradition for Fortnite updates, especially as it's planned for Tuesday. This means it should likely drop just after server downtime.

For this reason, we're expecting it to begin at 09:00 BST / 04:00 EST / 01:00 PST and could last anywhere up to a handful of hours. As the server updates start to roll in, we will update you right here on the status of the game.

If anything changes, we will let you know. As well as this, we will have all the latest coverage of the next update right here at RealSport101.