The home of sports games

The home of sports games

FFXIV 6.25 Patch COUNTDOWN: Release Time, Server Downtime, Dungeons & More

A look at all the content in the 6.25 patch of FFXIV

The next big update for FFXIV is now on its way and MMORPG players across the world are looking forward to exploring the various new pieces of end-game content added to Eorzea.

While the next major patch is some time away, this new content will give players at level 90 new things to do while they eagerly await the next big update to arrive in the future.

Here is everything you need to know about FFXIV 6.25 Patch.

FFXIV 6.25 Patch Release Time

6.25 Patch Release Time

The 6.25 patch for FFXIV's Endwalker expansion will be released on Tuesday, 18th October 2022 and will arrive along with the game's weekly reset. This latest update will arrive at 03:00 PST / 06:00 EST /11:00 BST / 12:00 CEST / 20:00 AEDT.

Once the patch the implemented, the content will begin to be added to the game. A majority of the content will be added immediately with some staggered releases across this patch before the next one arrives.

Server Downtime

There will be a period of server downtime for the 6.25 update.
click to enlarge
+ 3

Players trying to log into FFXIV right now leading up to the update will be greeted with an announcement for a period of server downtime for the entire game and companion app as the 6.25 patch is implemented.

This downtime will begin at 23:00 PST / 02:00 EST / 07:00 BST / 08:00 CEST / 17:00 AEDT, with the Home World Transfer Service and the Data Center Travel System being suspended 30 minutes before the downtime begins.

The downtime will then end once the patch is fully implemented, letting players return to Eorzea and continue their adventures through the endgame content now available to them.

New Dungeons

There are two new types of dungeons introduced in the 6.25 patch for FFXIV
click to enlarge
+ 3

While the 6.25 patch will also see a brand new line of Hildibrand quests to make players laugh while earning XP, the biggest appeal to this new update is the new types of dungeons being introduced.

Two new styles of FFXIV dungeons will be introduced with the update, both for level 90 players looking for new content to help keep them occupied between now and the next update.

The first of these, known as Variant Dungeons, will be made for 1-4 players, meaning that they can be played solo or with three other players. The appeal of these dungeons is that the difficulty scales and alters based on the number of players crawling through them.

This means that a solo experience will be different from the four-player run, with all players being able to change classes on the fly during the dungeon run, something never done before.

Key art for FFXIV showing the canonical warrior of light.
click to enlarge
+ 3

The second dungeon type is known as Criterion Dungeons meanwhile and is designed for players wanting a difficult but rewarding task, requiring four players (Tank, Healer & two DPS) and with no NPCs to accompany them. Limited revives and no resurrection abilities will be allowed during these dungeons.

These dungeons will also have Savage variants which make them even harder by completely removing revives and letting enemies respawn.

For more articles like this, take a look at our More and Role Playing Games page.