03 Aug 2021 3:05 PM +00:00

Back 4 Blood's Open Beta is bringing early access to both Co-Op and PvP

Jump To

It's time to stop doing "stuff, Lori... thangs" and pick up your baseball bat! Back 4 Blood is about to release Early Access to its Open Beta and we have everything you need to know about what's included and when you can jump into the Zombie-slaying action!

When does the Open Beta release actually start?

Back 4 Blood is due to release access to its Open Beta on August 12th at 12:00 PST / 15:00 EST / 20:00 BST until August 16th at 12:00 PST / 15:00 EST / 20:00 BST. The times aren't set in stone, and the Open Beta release can be extended at any time. However, these are the timings you should be going by for now.

There is an Early Access Open Beta, though, for zombie-slayers that pre-order Back 4 Blood ahead of release or register their interest. This is due to start on August 5th at 12:00 PST / 15:00 EST / 20:00 BST and will run until August 9th at 12:00 PST / 15:00 EST / 20:00 BST.

Advertisement

You can also get access to the Early Access Open Beta if you participate in the Back 4 Blood Twitch Drops which have just started.

Early Access is available through Twitch Drops

If you want to earn your Early Access Open Beta access via Twitch Drop, you're going to need to follow these steps. It shouldn't be too hard, but without following these steps you won't be able to get access.

  1. Create and/or Sign In to your WB Games Account;
    1. You have to be 13 years or older to do this, however... Back 4 Blood is an 18-rated title.
  2. Connect your Twitch Account to your WB Games Account;
  3. Watch a Twitch streamer playing Back 4 Blood with Twitch Drops enabled for 60 minutes to earn Early Access to the Open Beta;
    1. This can only be done between August 5th at 12:00 PST / 15:00 EST / 20:00 BST and August 9th at 12:00 PST / 15:00 EST / 20:00 BST/;
  4. Claim your Early Access to the Open Beta via your WB Games Account;

You can also check your progression via the Twitch Drops Homepage on Twitch if you're concerned about your progress.

Advertisement

Open Beta FAQs and details

The Open Beta is available on every release platform for Back 4 Blood, including Early Access. This means you can play it on Xbox Series X|S, Xbox One, PS5, PS4, and PC via Steam.

It's worth noting that registering your interest in the Early Access period does not guarantee access to the Open Beta and progress resets when the Open Beta ends. This is more about testing the game than making inroads on progression itself. So, don't worry if you don't get what you're after!

During the Open Beta, you will be able to play two Co-Op PvE missions and play on two of the PvP maps on offer. Five different "Cleaners" will be available during the Open Beta and Early Access Open Beta and you should be able to also explore Fort Hope during the experience.