Anthem at EA Play 2020: Date, Next, 2.0, update, sequel, reveal, news, rumours, leaks & more

EA’s action role-playing game needs a makeover, will we get news of changes at EA Play or even a sequel?

Toby Durant by Toby Durant
anthem ea play

The gaming expo season has been crushed by Coronavirus, but Electronic Arts were still on track to bring us EA Play this year.

With it should come news about the future of Anthem.

EA Play Delay

A recent tweet from EA reads that EA Play will be on 18 June 2020, which is later than originally planned.

EA PLay delayed
DELAY: The event will now be on 18 June

Will Anthem feature at EA Play?

It’s no secret that Anthem was a disappointment when it arrived in February 2019. It had mixed to poor reviews from critics and gamers alike.

anthem ea play game
SQUAD UP: Anthem’s theory was strong, the delivery wasn’t

Anthem still has a player base, but the action role-playing game has struggled to capture the kind of ground it would have hoped for.

READ MORE: Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order sequel at EA Play?

A recent BioWare blogpost was very candid and spoke of the team “going back to the drawing board” when it comes to Anthem’s next step.

Will there be an Anthem sequel announcement?

EA Play would certainly be the place for BioWare and EA to announce the next step for Anthem to a wider audience.

anthem ea play 2
FIXER UPPER: Anthem had a lot of positives, but there’s plenty to do

Be it a sequel (Anthem Next and Anthem 2.0 are the leading title candidates) or a DLC that overhauls a lot of what went wrong with Anthem, whatever is planned to salvage the game should get some of the spotlight.

How to watch EA Play

EA Play is scheduled for 18 June. It’s set to kick off at 4pm PT / 7pm ET / 12am BST (on 19 June).

You can watch live at EA.com and there will be complimentary coverage across their social media channels.

READ MORE: Battlefield 6 EA Play: Trailer, release date, gameplay, announcement, reveal & more

Toby Durant

a