Minecraft: What is Crying Obsidian? - Where does it Spawn? What is it used for? Minecraft 1.16 Update and More!

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook

Minecraft is still one of the biggest games in the world, even after a decade of updates and support.

This new update adds amazing features for players to grind for and unlock.

Both veterans and new players will enjoy these changes, as they will effect everyones experience of improving your equipment and armour.

In the update, we found the addition of Crying Obsidian, but what is it and how should you use it?

Where does it spawn?

Unfortuneatly, you can't craft Crying Obsidian, so you'll need to get on the hunt to find it.

minecraft piglin
click to enlarge

THE NEW NETHER - The Nether has been completely revamped, jump into the new update to take a look!

Crying Obsidian is generated naturally in ruined portal structures. This also comes with other materials like normal obsidian.

another way to get Crying Obsidian is to trade gold with zombie pigman.

READ MORE: Minecraft 2020 Piglins: Are they replacing Zombie Pigmen? Nether, Trading, Location & More

Luckily there's no difference in mining speed when compared to obsidian.

What is it used for?

Crying Obsidian cannot be used to create a nether portal. So what can you use this new material for?

click to enlarge

NETHERITE - Netherite tools and armour are now the best!

It can be used in decorative ways to create some cool spaces.

However, it's mainly used for creating respawn anchors. These can be used to create respawn points in the nether.

READ MORE: Minecraft Bedrock 1.16.0 Patch Notes: Xbox One, PS4, Switch, Windows 10, New Achievements, Nether Update, Mobs, Blocks & more

There is also a host of other changes to gameplay in Minecraft's most recent update.


Minecraft 1.16 Update

One of the biggest changes in the Minecraft 1.16 update is the addition of respawn anchors, allowing players to spawn in the nether.

click to enlarge

PLAY YOUR WAY - Minecraft allows you to play the way you want, and do it with your friends!

We also have the addition of Netherite armour and weapons. This is a nice addition, as veterans finally have a new armour set to grind for!

READ MORE: Minecraft Netherite Tools Guide: How to Make Weapons & Tools, Nether Update, Scraps, Ingots & More

To get a rundown of the full patch notes, click here!

For more articles like this, take a look at our Minecraft page.