League of Legends Worlds 2022: How Does the Group Draw Work?

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook

League of Legends largest esports event, Worlds 2022 will soon begin as we journey through to find the champion.

Before this can happen, there are various stages that the teams must get through to have a chance of winning.

Advertisement

One of these complex stages is the Group Stage and Play-in draw which will decide which teams are placed into which groups.

However, the live stream details have all been released so fans are gearing up for the exciting event.

So, let's take a look at how the Group and Play-in draw works and where the teams will go from there.

Don't Miss: Discover Razer's Ultimate Gaming Laptops Now

How does the draw show work?

The draw show is used so that the teams can be split evenly into different matches.

League of Legends Worlds 2021 draw

Additionally, this is usually decided upon past regional match history so they are evenly divided.

Play-in stage draw

Firstly, the play-in teams are divided into three pools depending on their skill.

Secondly, no team is allowed in the same pool with another team from their region. This may look like...

  • Pool 1 will consist of LPL4, LCK4, LEC3, and PCS2.
  • Pool 2 will consist of LEC4, LCS3, VCS2, and LJL1.
  • Pool 3 will consist of LCO1, TCL1, LLA1, and CBLOL1.
Advertisement

Group stage draw

After the play-in stage, the remaining 12 teams will be divided into their groups.

Once again, these teams have all been sorted into pools based on performance. These may look like...

  • Pool 1 will consist of LPL1, LCK1, LEC1, and LCS1.
  • Pool 2 will consist of LPL2, LCK2, LEC2, and PCS1.
  • Pool 3 will consist of LPL3, LCK3, LCS2, and VCS1.

Additionally, these three pools will be sorted into four groups of four for the Group Stage of the World Championship.

Play-in and Group draw for Worlds 2022 date

The live stream which shows the group draw for League of Legends Worlds 2022 will begin on September 11 2022.

League of Legends Worlds 2021 draw
Advertisement

The esports event will start at...

  • 10 pm GMT
  • 6 pm ET
  • 11 pm BST
  • 3 pm PT