League of Legends Ranked System: What is it, MMR, and More

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook

Riot games have set the standard for gaming with classics such as League of Legends, Valorant, and Wild Rift.

The community has a big competitive spirit. Whether this comes through in flaming, toxic behaviour, or actually even playing the game, the passion is there.


Riot Games have always included competition in each of their titles so their ranked systems are brilliant. League of Legends ranked system is one of the best out there, but how does it work? And what ranks are there to climb up?

Table of Contents

Don't Miss: Discover Razer's Ultimate Gaming Laptops Now

What is ranked matchmaking and how does it work?

Matchmaking in League of Legends ranked games is only available when a summoner is level 30 and owns 20 champions. This gives them a better chance to play who they want to. Additionally, it means they have a better game sense and understand the micro and macro better.


Do not fear, being placed in a lower rank does not mean that you will stay there. Developing skills and winning ranked games allows the user to climb to the more prestigious ranks such as Gold or Diamond.

DIamond ranked from LoL

Ranks are earned by playing ranked games. Winning a ranked game will earn the player a certain number of LP which is based on performance and whether the team won. Your MMR also affects how much LP you can earn.

What League of Legends ranks are there?

League of Legends has 9 rank categories which are divided by elements. Each element also has five divisions which use roman numerals and range from IV to I.

  • Iron
  • Bronze
  • Silver
  • Gold
  • Platinum
  • Diamond
  • Master
  • Grandmaster
  • Challenger

How can I see my progress in ranks?

Match history will provide players with all their match outcomes and rankings. These can be looked at to improve as well as looking at stat trackers.

League of Legends in game

If teammates pull through and you get a promotion, you will be told after the game ends. The grind begins once again as players begin to better themselves to the next rank.