19 Jul 2021 1:35 PM +00:00

How Do You Install the New Genshin Impact Update?

The new Genshin Impact update, ushering in version 2.0, will be out soon and we have everything you need to know about the new update (including information about the new Character Banners!)

Jump To

Genshin Impact 2.0 is set to be the largest update to the game to date, adding the entire region of Inazuma to to the game, as well as three new characters, new bosses, new weapons and artifacts,. and tons of new features

Update Release Time

Advertisement

The team behind Genshin Impact, miHoYo, has confirmed the release time for the upcoming version 2.0 patch as t 06:00 UTC+8 on July 21, 2021. This means it will start at 18:00 EST / 23:00 BST.

In a similar fashion to the other major Genshin Impact title updates of this size, downtime is going to be pretty major. miHoYo is estimating that it will take around five hours, meaning that Genshin Impact 2.0 will not be available until 23:00 EST / 04:00 BST (July 21).

Genshin Impact 2.0 is currently available for pre-load, meaning players will be able to jump right into the latest update once miHoYo makes it available for play.

How to Preload the Genshin Impact 2.0 Update

Preload is already available, and it is super easy to take advantage of.

Mobile

On mobile devices, you need to open up the game and head to the Paimon menu.

From there, click on the 'Settings' option and then 'Pre-Install Resource Package'. That should allow you to start downloading the new Genhsin Impact 2.0 content.

Advertisement

PC

Genshin Impact 2.0 Pre-Installation
click to enlarge

If you're playing on PC, the process is a little different, but probably easier.

All you need to do is update the launcher and then select the pre-install option that should appear.

Update Download Size

Before you preload the Genhsin Impact 2.0 update, you'll want to know exactly how big the file is going to be so that you prepared.

  • PC: 15.0GB
  • Mobile: 3.62 GB