12 Sep 2021 2:07 PM +00:00

Fortnite Operation Sky Fire COUNTDOWN: Start Time, Date and How to Watch!

Today's the day! It's the season finale of Fortnite Season 7 which is called Operation Sky Fire. This event will not only close out the season but also set us up nicely for Season 8.

Jump To

It will be an absolute must-see event that will differ from others in one significant way, it's will be interactive! Rather than being a bystander to Operation Sky Fire, it's believed you will be interacting with events in multiple ways.

Latest - Matchmaking to be disabled soon

Fortnite has confirmed that matchmaking will de disabled at 20:25 BST / 15:25 EST / 13:25 PST.

Advertisement

At this time, the Operation Sky Fire playlist will be available to join as a pre-event lobby. Once the time comes, you'll be automatically place into an event lobby, which is a max of 16 players.

Operation Sky Fire Time, Date and How to Watch

Operation Sky Fire will take place on Sunday, 12 September at 21:00 BST / 16:00 EST / 13:00 PST. Fortnite has tried to time the event in a way where no time zone suffers and everyone can participate.

Advertisement

Matchmaking is likely to be disabled around 30 minutes before the event goes live. For something of this magnitude, single-player lobbies could be a possibility. As the event is interactive and may require player input, large lobbies are unlikely.

To access the event, make sure you're logged into Fortnite at least 10 minutes before the above start time. This gives you a chance to get through any potential server queues (and personal internet issues) to secure your place in the event. There will likely only be one playlist available during the event, so as long as you're playing at the right time, on the right day, it's impossible to miss.

Servers going Down post-event?

It's believed that the Fortnite servers will be down immediately following the Operation Sky Fire event. This outage could last through to the beginning of Season 8 which is set for Tuesday, 14 September.

Advertisement

This wouldn't be the first time that this has happened but it is usually reserved for very special events! We'll keep you updated throughout the lead-up to the event and beyond into Season 8.