Fortnite Season 8 SPOILERS: Fallout from Operation Sky Fire

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook

Operation Sky Fire is over and the future of Fortnite hangs in the balance.

This article may contain spoilers not only for the event but for Season 8 as well, do not read on if you wish to stay in the dark.

Table of Contents

Here's what's leaked out of the event so far as well as how to watch along.

LATEST - Teaser Three + Trailer Revealed

We have teaser three for Fortnite Season 8 which shows off JB Chimpanski as a new character/skin.

Advertisement

On top of this we also have a teaser trailer that appears to confirm that Carnage is on his way to the game, could he be part of the Battle Pass?

Advertisement

Second Teaser Revealed

The second official Fortnite Season 8 teaser shows an anime-style demon hunter character.

Advertisement

Like the other image, it contains a QR code. It appears that after four teasers we may be able to discover something new about Season 8. Perhaps these are Battle Pass skins?

First Season 8 Official Teaser

We have our first official teaser for Fortnite Season 8 and it's... something.

Advertisement

CUBES GALORE, Season 8 Start Time Confirmed

Season 8 will begin in approximately 12 hours (10:00 BST/05:00 EST/02:00 PST). In Operation Sky Fire, Kevin the Cube made its return, but with seemingly THOUSANDS of other Cubes.

Advertisement
Operation Sky Fire Finale
click to enlarge
+ 2

The Mothership was destroyed but in the process, the cubes have fallen onto the Island.

Advertisement

Playlist Live, the countdown is on

We are in the final stages of waiting for Operation Sky Fire and with all matchmaking disabled, you can join a lobby and wait for it to begin.

Advertisement
Fortnite Sky Fire Waiting Lobby
click to enlarge
+ 2

The event is due to begin at 5 minutes past the hour and last up to 15 minutes.

First Event Clip Found

We may have the first leak of a clip from the Operation Sky Fire event. It shows a player interacting with Doctor Slone as she warns about the mothership. A blinding light then appears to abduct or teleport the player.

Advertisement

It's also possible that this is just a concept of what the event may look like.

Kevin the Cube Audio Found

It appears that audio files for Kevin the Cube has been found and he'll be 'zapping' the player at some point during the event.

Advertisement

Lobby Audio Leaked

The audio of Doctor Slone hyping up players in the playlist lobby has leaked. She warns that the aliens are preparing for their biggest abduction yet. She also mentions that you've attached explosives to all of the abduction targets!

Advertisement

We know that lobbies will be up to 16 players max. It's expected that the pre-event lobby will have the same limit.

Operation Sky Fire Length

Operation Sky Fire is set to last around 15 minutes in total. It will begin around 5 minutes after the advertised start time and finish up at 21:20 BST / 16:20 EST / 13:20 PST. This is fairly typical and may include a post-event trailer for Fortnite Season 8.

Advertisement

How to Watch Operation Sky Fire in Fortnite

Fortunately, it's pretty easy to attend events like these in Fortnite. All matchmaking should be paused around 30 minutes before Operation Sky Fire begins.

On Sunday, 12 September, make sure you're logged into Fortnite with plenty of time to spare before the 21:00 BST / 16:00 EST / 13:00 PST start time. This allows you to get through any potential server queues.

Advertisement

Once in the game, only one playlist will be available to play during the event. It's literally unmissable! There may be a pre-event lobby like with the Rift Tour which will act as a social space to relax before Operation Sky Fire begins.